Inventor General

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
chaseling
Posts: 228
Registered: ‎12-11-2003
Message 1 of 7 (227 Views)

Inventor memory allocation

227 Views, 6 Replies
09-20-2004 06:42 PM
I am recieving a message in Inventor saying that I have used 80% of the available memory. Yet my system has 2GB of Ram, IV9 is using 1.15MB and the rest of the system is using 0.2MB, therefore there is 0.65 MB spare. This doesn;t quite add up to 80%. Can I get IV9 to use the full 80% of ram that is available.?
*John-IV8SP1
Message 2 of 7 (227 Views)

Re: Inventor memory allocation

09-22-2004 07:51 AM in reply to: chaseling
There is a way to address this, I believe. It was discussed in a previous post - you'll have to do a search or hope some helpful soul will point the way. Sorry I only have 1GB RAM so can't recreate. "chaseling" wrote in message news:31602542.1095730957870.JavaMail.jive@jiveforum2.autodesk.com... > I am recieving a message in Inventor saying that I have used 80% of the available memory. Yet my system has 2GB of Ram, IV9 is using 1.15MB and the rest of the system is using 0.2MB, therefore there is 0.65 MB spare. This doesn;t quite add up to 80%. Can I get IV9 to use the full 80% of ram that is available.?
Distinguished Contributor
pkquat
Posts: 2,530
Registered: ‎02-03-2004
Message 3 of 7 (227 Views)

Re: Inventor memory allocation

09-22-2004 09:50 AM in reply to: chaseling
I assume you mean GB on MB in your post. The answer to this question then is no. Windows OS likes to have half of what ever amount of memory you have available. If you have 4GB of memory there is the 3GB switch. Information on this is available on the web via Inventor Help, "Graphics Drivers".

I would use it as justification that you need more memory for your PC. :-)

I think this message relates to more than just memory though. I would think the swap file should handle the extra. I am not sure why this is the case. I have only gotten this message when IV is "updating" before printing, and has not crashed yet. IV may not allow swap file usage for this operation, but that is only speculation.

Pete
Distinguished Contributor
bhowe
Posts: 460
Registered: ‎11-20-2003
Message 4 of 7 (227 Views)

Re: Inventor memory allocation

09-28-2004 06:12 AM in reply to: chaseling
I am also having the same problem. I have 3 mhz processor with 2gb ram and 128mb ram on the video card. I have to reboot the computer to get IV9pro running smoothly again. It seems to be time related. The more I use IV9 the sooner I have to reboot. Another here is having the same problem. He has a totally different computer system. We noticed this when we switched to IV9pro. Waiting for SP to fix this. Did you find a solution?
Bill
Thank You

Bill

Inventor 2011 Pro 64 bit
Windows XP Pro 64 bit
Dell Precision PWS390
Intel Core 2 CPU 6700 @2.66GHz
7.93 GHz Ram
ATI FireGL V7200
Distinguished Contributor
stevensf
Posts: 247
Registered: ‎12-12-2003
Message 5 of 7 (227 Views)

Re: Inventor memory allocation

10-19-2004 11:28 AM in reply to: chaseling
I get this message on IV8 as well. It has to do with how many fies I open in a session, and most of the time I must kill IV or reboot. I now have 2 gb ram and it happens about 4 hours in and after opening 12 files.
Fred


I am running a
IBM A30 8199-66U
Intel Pentium 4 2.66GHz (512KB), 533MHz FSB,
2 GB IBM Memory,
40GB 7200RPM IDE HDD,
Intel Extreme Graphics (onboard)
NVIDIA Quardro NVS 64MB PCI
Intel 10/100 Ethernet,
P260 IBM monitor
Distinguished Contributor
bhowe
Posts: 460
Registered: ‎11-20-2003
Message 6 of 7 (227 Views)

Re: Inventor memory allocation

10-19-2004 11:51 AM in reply to: chaseling
Are you running IV PRO?
Thanks,
Bill
Thank You

Bill

Inventor 2011 Pro 64 bit
Windows XP Pro 64 bit
Dell Precision PWS390
Intel Core 2 CPU 6700 @2.66GHz
7.93 GHz Ram
ATI FireGL V7200
Distinguished Contributor
pkquat
Posts: 2,530
Registered: ‎02-03-2004
Message 7 of 7 (227 Views)

Re: Inventor memory allocation

10-19-2004 12:30 PM in reply to: chaseling
IDW's are the main memory killers / hogs. An odd thing with IV8 is that you can minimize IV and that seems to condense the memory / resources. I do this periodically. Once I hit the limit I usually restart IV. Someone said a while ago that minimizing IV is causing windows to dump the remaining mem to the swap file and somehow managing the resources better. It saves on restarting IV. Its worked for me in some instances.

Pete
Dell Precision 360 P4 3GHz
3G ram. 3G swap
Win 2K SP2
Quadro FX500
AIS8SP1

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube