Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Inventor Snapping Options ???

30 REPLIES 30
SOLVED
Message 1 of 31
clyons
58582 Views, 30 Replies

Inventor Snapping Options ???

I'm just getting started with Inventor 2014 Pro, so this may be a stupid question, if so sorry.  I use OSNAPS and 3DOSNAPS and their various settings in AutoCAD and am having trouble finding something similar in Inventor.  I know something as simple as SNAPS must be available.  How do you set snapping options up in Inventor?

30 REPLIES 30
Message 2 of 31
JDMather
in reply to: clyons

Should be automatic in Inventor.

When you place your cursor near an endpoint, midpoint or centerpoint - you should see a green dot indicating a snap.

If you are trying to snap to a previous sketch or geometry in a new sketch - you must Project Geometry that previous geometry into the new sketch.

Attach your file here if you can't figure it out.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2019 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional

Message 3 of 31
clyons
in reply to: JDMather

OK, on closer inspection I am now seeing the endpoint & midpoint snaps.  But this is REALLY hard to see (especially since I run on a small FHD laptop screen).  Regular AutoCAD uses much larger snap icons.  Is it possible to change the snap icon to somthing more visible in Inventor?

This automatic snapping seems pretty limiting.  Here's all the snap types AutoCAD allows:

ScreenHunter_162 Jun. 12 19.46.jpg