Inventor General

Reply
Active Contributor
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎10-27-2006
Message 1 of 10 (822 Views)

Inventor Locks up

822 Views, 9 Replies
07-22-2010 01:36 PM

Something has happened to Inventor 2010 sp3. All of a sudden I'm working on a project and I notice I can't mirror a part in an assembly. The dialog box just never pops up. Then I opened a part and try to go to iproperties and inventor just locks up. Anyone heard of a problem like this? Ready to reinstall Inventor. Parts are OK on other workstations.

 

Thanks

Steve

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,538
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 2 of 10 (785 Views)

Re: Inventor Locks up

07-23-2010 07:40 AM in reply to: steve

You are not the first person who has said that going back to SP2 has fixed their problem.  You might consider it.

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Product Support
Posts: 202
Registered: ‎10-29-2008
Message 3 of 10 (784 Views)

Re: Inventor Locks up

07-23-2010 07:40 AM in reply to: steve

Steve,

  • Does this happen on just your machine or others using the same file?
  • Does this happen in any file or just one particular file?
  •  Are you using dual monitors? If so try reverting back to one.
  • Have you tried logging on as the local administrator of that system? We’re aware that most users have admin rights in their account but the local admin account is different.

Please post your finding on each question.

 

Charlie

Active Contributor
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎10-27-2006
Message 4 of 10 (755 Views)

Re: Inventor Locks up

07-23-2010 03:06 PM in reply to: steve

I figured out one thing.

If I log in as Administrator then it works ok. (outlook and other applications are not set up though. Big Pain)

Single or Double monitor works.

 

Files are randon. Have had it lock up on idw's and part files. Some work for a bit.

 

Happens on my machine only.

Quadro FX3800 Video card. Updated driver. Still locked up

I'll try ro roll back to SP2 and see it that works, But had other bugs that sp3 fixed.

 

Steve

Active Contributor
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎10-27-2006
Message 5 of 10 (749 Views)

Re: Inventor Locks up

07-23-2010 04:56 PM in reply to: steve

Got Admin rights and it still doesn't work.

Removed SP3 and Didn't work

Removed SP2 and didn't work

Did a n Inventor repair and installed SP1,2,3 and it doesn't work.

Locks up in assemblies and part when trying to access iproperties.

 

Lost as what to try next.

 

Active Contributor
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎10-27-2006
Message 6 of 10 (730 Views)

Re: Inventor Locks up

07-24-2010 09:54 PM in reply to: steve

Next bug to screw with my head.

Part PL9.ipt will lock up inventor. If I cut and paste a copy of the PL9.ipt and just let it make the file Copy of PL9.ipt it works and doesn't lock up.

I see know logical reason why a copy should work and the original one locks up Inventor. same file correct?

 

Steve

Contributor
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎04-30-2009
Message 7 of 10 (399 Views)

Re: Inventor Locks up

08-09-2011 08:16 AM in reply to: steve

I am having the same problem... In a 100 part assembly, approx. 3 parts are acting this way.

 

When accessing I properties Inventor locks up. I can access and edit i properties thru Design Assistant. The problem is that material properties are only editable thru iproperties in the specific part.

 

Help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

*Pro
sbixler
Posts: 1,845
Registered: ‎09-15-2003
Message 8 of 10 (379 Views)

Re: Inventor Locks up

08-10-2011 03:51 AM in reply to: DSNR

Doesn't answer why Inventor is locking up, but you can change material through the Styles Manager (right click > Active).  That will at least keep you working on those three files while you or someone else figures out what's wrong with them.

Contributor
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎04-30-2009
Message 9 of 10 (310 Views)

Re: Inventor Locks up

11-29-2011 09:02 AM in reply to: sbixler

I found a fix to this issue, or at least it has been working for me!!!

 

-With the part file open

-Rename the part name, on the top of the modeling hierarchy (I just add an "A" to the end of the name).

-Hit "Save".

-Change the part name back to what it is supposed to be.

-Hit "Save"

 

Open Iprops and enjoy!!!

 

Let me know if this works for you???

 

Active Member
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎03-22-2007
Message 10 of 10 (162 Views)

Re: Inventor Locks up

02-13-2013 02:16 PM in reply to: steve

I also am experiencing Inventor lockup when I use iproperties from the model tree. Except I am using 2012. Even rebooting the system won't help. I shut it down for the night and in the morning it will work for a while. Installing sp2 didn't help either. Anybody have any answers??

Gary

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube