Inventor General

Reply
Employee
garin
Posts: 147
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 1 of 9 (376 Views)

Inventor Assemble Command

376 Views, 8 Replies
01-27-2012 12:16 PM

I am a Product Manager for Inventor and have a quick question for those of you that use the Assemble command in Inventor. As many of you know, we added the Assemble command in Inventor 2010 to make it easier to position components and add constraints to them.

 

  • Have you used it?
  • Do you use the Assemble command as your main tool to assemble components over the Constraint command?
  • What do you like about it?
  • What do you dislike about it?
  • How often do you use it over the Constraint command?

Thanks for any feedback!!

 

*Expert Elite*
karthur1
Posts: 4,162
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 2 of 9 (368 Views)

Re: Inventor Assemble Command

01-27-2012 12:38 PM in reply to: garin

Garin,

Have tried it and it seemed to work ok.  A few quirks about it that I didnt like, so I just stuck with the constraint command.

 

1. When you would bring in a new part and try to assemble it to a part that is already fully constrianed, you have to pick the unconstrained part first, otherwise you get a error message and parts tend to fly around.

 

2. I use the insert constraint when I can (80% of the time) over mate. When I couldnt get the insert constrain in the flyout, I would have to cancel the command and then use constraint.  Got to be too much of a hassle, so I just stuck with the constraint command.

 

Pretty useless for me.  The constraint command works just fine.

 

Kirk

Mentor
PACDrafting
Posts: 583
Registered: ‎10-22-2007
Message 3 of 9 (361 Views)

Re: Inventor Assemble Command

01-27-2012 01:01 PM in reply to: garin
It's useless.

When you have an adaptive part and try to constrain say each end of a beam it doesn't work as it should. Using the standard constraint tool works fine in this regard.
*Pro
ampster
Posts: 1,125
Registered: ‎07-26-2005
Message 4 of 9 (353 Views)

Re: Inventor Assemble Command

01-27-2012 01:15 PM in reply to: garin

I would not outright say it's useless...

 

tried it in the past month or so when someone else asked me what it was about.

 

I think I could get used to it in time, possibly as it mutures later on.

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 3,940
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 5 of 9 (339 Views)

Re: Inventor Assemble Command

01-27-2012 01:30 PM in reply to: garin

I find it's easier just to use the Contraint Command. The command is programmed into one of the buttons on my SpacePilot.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 up1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
*Expert Elite*
mcgyvr
Posts: 6,703
Registered: ‎12-01-2004
Message 6 of 9 (335 Views)

Re: Inventor Assemble Command

01-27-2012 01:33 PM in reply to: blair

Garin,

I made a post about it when it first came out (might have been on the beta forum) because I can't find it on this one (but I didn't look too hard).. but here is what I wrote in another post. And for the record I do NOT use it at all because of this.

--------

I dislike the current implementation of the Assemble command and find it almost pointless. Great for one part..lousy workflow for constraining multiple parts. I don't like how you are forced to keep firing up the assemble command for each new part.. I made a post a few weeks ago about simply adding another button to the HUD to allow you to keep the dialog open and select another part to assemble after you are done with the first part.. If you could simply pick/assemble one part then go right to the next without having to fire up the assembly command again it would be much..much better.

-------------

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

Down with IDW/DWG files..... Long live 3D PMI... Hurry it up already..
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
2015 Product Design Suite Ultimate
Windows 7 64 bit
Core i7 4820k processor (OC'd to 4.4Ghz), Nvidia GTX 770, 16G RAM


*Expert Elite*
mcgyvr
Posts: 6,703
Registered: ‎12-01-2004
Message 7 of 9 (332 Views)

Re: Inventor Assemble Command

01-27-2012 01:35 PM in reply to: mcgyvr

and this from a while ago too (mcad forums wishlist)

If you built kwiksert functionality into the assemble command it would be very useful.

 

--------------

add Kwiksert type functionality to the new "assemble" command. Simply adding an additional button to the HUD to allow you to then select the next mating feature that would automatically constrain an additional copy of the part you just used the assemble command for. Workflow would be as follows.. Place your new part. click assemble command. pick the feature on the placed part then the feature on the mating part. Then hit the new button which would apply the first constraint then allow you to select another feature which would automatically constrain another copy of the placed part there. existing OK button would then finishes the assemble.

------------

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

Down with IDW/DWG files..... Long live 3D PMI... Hurry it up already..
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
2015 Product Design Suite Ultimate
Windows 7 64 bit
Core i7 4820k processor (OC'd to 4.4Ghz), Nvidia GTX 770, 16G RAM


*Expert Elite*
karthur1
Posts: 4,162
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 8 of 9 (317 Views)

Re: Inventor Assemble Command

01-27-2012 02:22 PM in reply to: mcgyvr

....or build the kwiksert functionality into the constraint command... that would also be sweet.

 

*Pro
sbixler
Posts: 1,870
Registered: ‎09-15-2003
Message 9 of 9 (283 Views)

Re: Inventor Assemble Command

01-28-2012 07:30 PM in reply to: garin

If I recall correctly, I tried it in Inventor 2010, didn't see any advantage over the place and constrain workflow and haven't used it since.  I may have to have another look.  Has it been enhanced in any way since its introduction?

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube