Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Inventor 2014 slow start in the morning

11 REPLIES 11
Message 1 of 12
barsea
2033 Views, 11 Replies

Inventor 2014 slow start in the morning

I have been using 2014 without problems for about 2 months until now. Recently (in the last two weeks) I have been starting inventor in the morning and the first model I load (whether big or small makes no difference) will sit for about 20 minutes before the model is loaded and can be worked on. Once the first model is loaded, every other model loads just as fast as it did in the past without delay.  I can even shut down inventor, start it up again and load a model without delay.

In order to mitigate the delay, I have been leaving my machine on over night and in the morning start using Inventor as usual - without delay.

I have applied service pack 1, but the problem persists.

My machine specs are:

Intel Xeon, dual quad core - 8 CPUs @ 3.6GHz

16 Gig ram

Windows 7, 64 bit

11 REPLIES 11
Message 2 of 12
BarryZA
in reply to: barsea

I had, on the face of it, the same problem as you. It turned out to be a hardware (RAM) fault.

What happened is I put twice the maximum RAM in, funnily enough my mb picked it up and it would work, but often my first file to open in Inv would be really slow.

I then installed a graphics card and the problem got 10 times worse.

I took out the extra RAM and now everything is perfect. (and I'm saving up for a new mb)

Message 3 of 12
karthur1

I have the same issue with my computer at home. But, I don't think that it is necessarly Inventor.  When I start it up, if I start a memory heavy program it is very sluggish.  I see the same slowness with a large pdf (50mb) or Photoshop or Autocad or Inventor.