Inventor General

Reply
Active Member
Danielpare
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎09-20-2006
Message 1 of 4 (257 Views)

Inventor 2013

257 Views, 3 Replies
01-24-2013 05:37 PM

Hi,

 

 i've search but didn't found a real answer, only found out-of-date post.

So... we are currently running autodes inventor 11  yes i know we're late... but now we change everything for inventor 2013 pro. we open daily big assembly with more than 40 000+ item assembly. we really need blazing fast machine.

 

here's the config we are checking. we are looking for 7 computer like this.

 

Alienware aurora

i7-3930 6core 12mb cache 4.1 ghz

win 7 pro 64 bits

32 gb ram DDR3 1600mhz

256 gb SSD disk

4GB GTX 690

 

VS

 

E5-2630, 2.3GHz, 15M

Win7 pro 64 bit

32 gb ram  ddr3 1600mhz

256 gb SSD disk

2.5GB NVIDIA® Quadro® 5000

 

so except the "base" of the machine, and CPU + graphic card those machine are very similar

 

is really worth paying more ? i can put raid 0 SSD with the alienware, i'll be even faster.

i think the alienware will be faster, is it true ?

now with the direct x and opengl, workstation card are still a must like before ?

 

 

thanks a lot, if you have suggestion i'll be happy to get them :smileyhappy:

 

 

 

 

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 3,934
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 4 (240 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013

01-24-2013 08:32 PM in reply to: Danielpare

I use SSD drives in RAID0 for my work and home units as the files are stored locally. This makes for faster loading of Inventor as well as the models.

 

If the data is stored on a network, the only real benefit from fast drives is the loading of Inventor and other programs. A number of people are moving from Quado cards to fast gaming cards because of Inventor now being a D3D/DirectX11 program. I used to run all Quadro cards and have switched to fast gaming cards. I just ordered up components for a new machine at work using the GTX690 card.

 

 

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 up1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Active Member
Danielpare
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎09-20-2006
Message 3 of 4 (211 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013

01-25-2013 06:52 AM in reply to: Danielpare

hi,

 

thank you for the answer.   my collegue think that raid 0 SSD is overkill, i think not, but dell doesn't offer the choice so... i 'll have to do it myself or not at all.

 

we use a plm software, that copy file locally when we check them in. so fast hdd is a must. for files AND apps.

 

thank you

Valued Contributor
eljoseppo
Posts: 70
Registered: ‎10-11-2010
Message 4 of 4 (75 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013

09-11-2013 02:10 AM in reply to: Danielpare

Hi Daniel,

which videocard did u choose?

GTX 690 is dualcore as far as I know. Does Inventor need/can use the second core?

 

Now the latest GPU is 780. does enyone have experience with this cards?

 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube