Inventor General

Reply
New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-01-2012
Message 1 of 4 (688 Views)

Inventor 2013 - Revolve command

688 Views, 3 Replies
11-13-2012 11:19 AM

I sketched a closed shape (rectangular with a notch cut out), finished the sketch, and performed a revolve.  I select the profile and the axis and the solid is displayed.  The only revolve type that is allowed is a 'cut', however there aren't any intersecting objects that I'm aware of; it's out in the middle of apparently empty space.  When I select OK I get an error message  -  "Create Revolved Feature: problems encountered while executing this command."  The error window has buttons for Edit and Cancel.   What am I doing wrong ???

Member
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-15-2012
Message 2 of 4 (684 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 - Revolve command

11-13-2012 11:24 AM in reply to: smickster

From your screen shot it looks like you are in an assembly file. In assembly mode only subtractive modifications can be performed on parts. So the revolve commad is only allowing cut because it is trying to modify participant parts in the assembly. To make a new part, first use the "create" command on the assemble tab to make a new part, or to edit an exisiting part in place, right click it in the browser window and hit edit.

 

Arnie

New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-01-2012
Message 3 of 4 (657 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 - Revolve command

11-13-2012 01:23 PM in reply to: arnie.martin

Thank you for the suggestion.  I gave it a shot and it still wouldn't work. So I opened a new part file and created it there.

Valued Mentor
rhasell
Posts: 287
Registered: ‎05-23-2007
Message 4 of 4 (629 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 - Revolve command

11-13-2012 03:24 PM in reply to: smickster

As Arnie mentioned, you are doing all your work in Assembly mode.

 

There are a lot of tutorials out there, JMATHER has plenty, I would have a look at his web site for some interesting information.

 

The reason why it did not work for a second time was that you probably clicked on the Drum Sub-Assembly and not the Part within the sub-assembly.

 

How I tought myself was to think of the manufacture process, all parts are manufactured indiviually with all features created, then the individual parts are Assembled together via bolts, welds etc. Any work done in assembly mode is carried out on the finished item, which is naturally the removal of material.

 


Reg
Autodesk Product Design Suite Premium 2014 SP1-Update 2 Build 222
Intel Core i7 (950@3.07GHz)/Win7x64 (Home) - 12GB Ram
Nvidia GeForce GTX 560 Ti
 
Please accept as a solution if it fixes your problem.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube