Inventor General

Reply
Employee
Posts: 634
Registered: ‎06-07-2007
Message 11 of 33 (294 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 Failed to mesh

09-04-2012 01:14 PM in reply to: DWEN

Hi DWEN,

  Yes, this is exactly what we were looking for.

  I see there is an existing one called OMP_NUM_THREADS = 6.  Could you try closing Inventor, change the value from 6 to 1, then re-launching Inventor to see if meshing works?

  If this doesn't work, please change the value back to 6 and let us know.  I will share your list with Development and we'll get back to you if there is anything else that seems out of place.

Many thanks, -Hugh



Hugh Henderson
Simulation QA Engineer
DLS
Active Member
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-01-2012
Message 12 of 33 (293 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 Failed to mesh

09-04-2012 01:22 PM in reply to: rschwartz

Hugh,

 

I have e-mailed a .txt file containing my environment variables to the address you provided.

 

Thank you for yor assistance in this matter.

 

Rob

Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎10-11-2006
Message 13 of 33 (290 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 Failed to mesh

09-04-2012 01:28 PM in reply to: rschwartz

I can not change this. see picture

 Is there an other way to change this from 6 to 1?

Active Member
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-01-2012
Message 14 of 33 (285 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 Failed to mesh

09-04-2012 01:35 PM in reply to: DWEN

Hugh,

 

I saw that my OMP_NUM_THREADS variable was set to 6 (like DWEN's), so I attempted changing it to 1 as you instructed. Despite the change, the error still continues.

 

 

DWEN,

 

I was also unable to change the OMP_NUM_THREADS variable with the windows gui, however, I was successful in changing it via command line. If you go start->"cmd", and then right click the cmd application, you can then select 'run as administrator'. After the cmd window appears, type "set OMP_NUM_THREADS=1" into the prompt to set the variable.

 

Thanks,

 

Rob

Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎10-11-2006
Message 15 of 33 (277 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 Failed to mesh

09-04-2012 01:46 PM in reply to: rschwartz

I am sorry, i am running my computer as administrator. But anyway I can not go in to cmd prompt (richt klik) and change it in run as administrator.  Then I tried to change this parameter with set OMP_NUM_THREADS=1.

 

But nothing happens. Stil standing at 6.

 

Anyway..... It did not help for you. So for me it is the same I think.

Same thing every year when there is an new inventor......   :smileysad:

 

Employee
Posts: 634
Registered: ‎06-07-2007
Message 16 of 33 (265 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 Failed to mesh

09-04-2012 04:31 PM in reply to: rschwartz

Hi DWEN and rschwartz,

 

  Thank you for checking and reporting back. 

 

  I think it is also worthwile to try logging in as a user with admin rights and try to mesh.  Hopefully, Inventor was installed with administrative rights in order to have unrestricted write access to the registry, enviornment variables, etc.  If you are unsure if Inventor was installed without restrictive privileges, please try a re-install with a user having full admin rights, firewalls turned off, etc. to see if it helps.

  I have compiled the feeback info and passed the issue along to Development for further investigation.  Hopefully we'll hear back soon.

 

Best regards, -Hugh



Hugh Henderson
Simulation QA Engineer
DLS
Employee
Posts: 634
Registered: ‎06-07-2007
Message 17 of 33 (264 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 Failed to mesh

09-04-2012 04:48 PM in reply to: rschwartz

Okay, Development has got back to me very quickly!

 

  We would like more info.  Could you send us the log file generated upon the failed mesh?  It will be located in your C:\Temp folder, and it will be called FEAComputeServer.log.

 

  To enable the log file, create this registry key:

 

(set HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Autodesk\Inventor\RegistryVersion17.0\Assembly Stress Analysis\ DebugInfo =dword:00000001).
With it, we can tell:

  1. Whether the 3rd part meshing exe file is found or not
  2. Whether meshing is executed or not

  I've also attached a registry key that you can double-click and it will create the reg key automatically.  The 17.0 assumes you are using Inventor Release 2013.

 

Thanks, -Hugh



Hugh Henderson
Simulation QA Engineer
DLS
Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎10-11-2006
Message 18 of 33 (254 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 Failed to mesh

09-04-2012 10:16 PM in reply to: henderh

I am sorry, installed youre key. and looked in C\temp.  No such file.

And yes I have Inventor 2013.

 

After I press the mesh button, I get a waiting bar. The waiting bar shows for +/- 30 sec and doesn't move.

Then the waiting bar disapears and notthing has changed.

 

 

 

Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎10-11-2006
Message 19 of 33 (251 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 Failed to mesh

09-04-2012 10:43 PM in reply to: henderh

Made an other user and gave it administrator rights.

Then started inventor and try to make a mesh.

 

Gave me some more info: (see screenshot)

 

But when I search for the folder \APPDATA, there is no such folder.

 

Greetings

Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎10-11-2006
Message 20 of 33 (237 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 Failed to mesh

09-05-2012 07:02 AM in reply to: henderh

Do you have any news?

 

This problem is verry hard for me, I have to make some FEM on a part that I have drawn on Inventor 13.

So I can't go back to Inventor 2012.

 

You can also call me. 0032 89 79 35 31

Ask for Dirk Wenmakers.

 

At this moment it is 16u02. You can reach me until 22u

 

Greetings

 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube