Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Incremental dimensions with a minimum

3 REPLIES 3
SOLVED
Message 1 of 4
JeremyEccleston
638 Views, 3 Replies

Incremental dimensions with a minimum

I am new to Inventor and maybe biting off more than I can chew, but I am trying to set up a dimension that starts at a minimum value and increases incrementally by 1/16" of an inch to satisfy another dimension.  I've attached a pdf showing the part and the two dimensions.  I need the overall thickness of the part to start at 1 1/4" as shown and as the width (Depth + 1 1/2") changes, the thickness will grow when the tongue of the part gets less than 5/8".  I'm guessing this is an area best suited to ILogic, but I'm not sure how to get started.  Can anyone help, please?

3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4
mcgyvr
in reply to: JeremyEccleston

You can do dimension equations/expressions in Inventor..

Watch this video.. Somewhere around the 2:45 second mark they start showing how to put equations/expressions into the dimension box..

Then

http://wikihelp.autodesk.com/Inventor/enu/2012/Help/0073-Autodesk73/0733-Design_O733/Functions%2c_pr...

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Inventor 2023 - Dell Precision 5570

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept Solution button below.
Maybe buy me a beer through Venmo @mcgyvr1269
Message 3 of 4
JeremyEccleston
in reply to: mcgyvr