Inventor General

Reply
Valued Contributor
Cool_Breeze_Jr
Posts: 73
Registered: ‎02-10-2012
Message 1 of 14 (768 Views)
Accepted Solution

Importing a dwg into a ipt.

768 Views, 13 Replies
12-18-2013 08:57 AM

Just upgraded to IV 2014 and cannot import a dwg into a part file. I click the icon labeled ACAD within the Insert panel, I am able to select which dwg to import b ut after that it seems as if i never clicked the ACAD icon at all. Any suggestions?

 

Have installed svc pack 1....

Chris Biggs
Engineer/CADD Services
New Horizons RV Corp.
2401 Lacey Drive
Junction City, KS 66441

Dell XPS 8300
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2600 CPU@3.40GHz
16GB RAM
Win 8.1 Pro
Autodesk Product Design Suite 2014
*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 3,940
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 14 (760 Views)

Re: Importing a dwg into a ipt.

12-18-2013 09:19 AM in reply to: Cool_Breeze_Jr
I believe you need to have "DWG TrueView" installed on your system as well.
Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 up1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Valued Contributor
Cool_Breeze_Jr
Posts: 73
Registered: ‎02-10-2012
Message 3 of 14 (753 Views)

Re: Importing a dwg into a ipt.

12-18-2013 09:29 AM in reply to: blair

Yeah I checked that, it is loaded and working.

Chris Biggs
Engineer/CADD Services
New Horizons RV Corp.
2401 Lacey Drive
Junction City, KS 66441

Dell XPS 8300
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2600 CPU@3.40GHz
16GB RAM
Win 8.1 Pro
Autodesk Product Design Suite 2014
*Expert Elite*
mcgyvr
Posts: 6,703
Registered: ‎12-01-2004
Message 4 of 14 (742 Views)

Re: Importing a dwg into a ipt.

12-18-2013 10:05 AM in reply to: Cool_Breeze_Jr

I see Windows 8.1 in your signature..

I wouldn't be surprised if that was the problem...

Why all you nerds had to immediately load 8.1 is beyond me.. :smileytongue: 

I see there is a hot fix for autocad because after 8.1 you can't import anything...wouldnt' be surprised of the same problem isn't effecting Inventor too..

 

Have you tried to repair install Autocad and Inventor programs after the 8.0 to 8.1 install? just checking..

Others have the same problem.. Seems like 8.1 strikes again..

http://autodesk.lithium.com/t5/Inventor-General/When-inserting-importing-DWG-files-into-Inventor-not...

 

I'd submit a trouble ticket with autodesk support ASAP

 

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

Down with IDW/DWG files..... Long live 3D PMI... Hurry it up already..
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
2015 Product Design Suite Ultimate
Windows 7 64 bit
Core i7 4820k processor (OC'd to 4.4Ghz), Nvidia GTX 770, 16G RAM


*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 3,940
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 5 of 14 (740 Views)

Re: Importing a dwg into a ipt.

12-18-2013 10:06 AM in reply to: Cool_Breeze_Jr
At which point is it failing. Can you get the request DWG file dialogue box. It does take a bit to open. Possibly check your Add-Ins that the DWG translator is available.
Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 up1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 3,940
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 6 of 14 (733 Views)

Re: Importing a dwg into a ipt.

12-18-2013 10:27 AM in reply to: blair
Get the update 1 for SP1 for Inventor, this should help with 8.1 woes. That portion of your post was cut-off on my machine. Also select the Inventor Icon and RMB on it and select the Run as Administrator. Also seen some problems with user rights and CC with 8.1 where you need to turn off the UAC.
Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 up1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Product Support
CESAR200
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎09-11-2008
Message 7 of 14 (678 Views)

Re: Importing a dwg into a ipt.

12-20-2013 01:59 PM in reply to: Cool_Breeze_Jr

It may be that Inventor is not fully registered with the operating system.  Please try the procedure below to correct the situation:

1) Press [Windows] key to open Windows' start page

2) Type "cmd" to find "Command Prompt" > right mouse click on it > select "Run as administrator"
 
3) On "Administrator: Command Prompt" window, type cd "c:\program files\autodesk\Inventor 2014\bin" > Enter

 

4) Type inventor /install > Enter
 
5) Wait for 1 min (inventor will be executed background then exit silently)



Cesar Valencia
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.
New Member
Luna84
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-17-2014
Message 8 of 14 (411 Views)

Re: Importing a dwg into a ipt.

03-17-2014 04:11 AM in reply to: CESAR200
Hello, I have the same problem, but your solution dosn't help me. I use Windows 7, 64bit and Inventor 2014 with the german language pack. Can you help?
Member
db1116
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-08-2014
Message 9 of 14 (320 Views)

Re: Importing a dwg into a ipt.

04-08-2014 06:17 AM in reply to: CESAR200

I tired the linked solution above (did everything as I supposed), but when I type inventor /install it says 'inventor' is notrecognized as an internal or external commad, operable program or batch file.

I'm using an Inventor 2014 student version under Windows 8.1 64bit.

Does somebody know how to fix it?

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,243
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 10 of 14 (307 Views)

Re: Importing a dwg into a ipt.

04-08-2014 07:18 AM in reply to: db1116

Post screen shot of you screen at this step.

 

Capture.PNG

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube