Inventor General

Reply
Active Member
sam_melvin
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-21-2012
Message 1 of 8 (1,603 Views)

Importing Points

1603 Views, 7 Replies
03-21-2012 08:21 AM

Im trying to make a wing by importing the cross section coordinates into a 2D sketch.

I was originally importing spreadsheets made in open office but saved as .xlsx and .xls, but have since attempted it with .xls files created in excel.

 

Once I select a file to import and press OK, the pop-up window closes and then nothing happens. I have tried this numerous times with numerous different files, and with each type of import (point, line, splice).

The spreadsheets are properly formatted (see attached) and I have tried removing the scale and the x y z column titles, and I still got nothing.

 

Any suggestions would be muchly appreciated.

Thanks

 

Sam

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,179
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 2 of 8 (1,598 Views)

Re: Importing Points

03-21-2012 08:26 AM in reply to: sam_melvin

What version of Inventor? 2010? 2011? 2012?  Have you installed all Service Packs for your version?

Attach you xls file here to see if it works for others.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Active Member
sam_melvin
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-21-2012
Message 3 of 8 (1,570 Views)

Re: Importing Points

03-22-2012 04:39 AM in reply to: sam_melvin

Im using AutoDesk Inventor Professional 2012, and I have installed service pack 1.

I've attached my xls file.

 

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,179
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 4 of 8 (1,558 Views)

Re: Importing Points

03-22-2012 06:33 AM in reply to: sam_melvin

I verified that the xls works fine on my machine - so now we need to figure out what is different on your machine.

 

points.png

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Active Member
sam_melvin
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-21-2012
Message 5 of 8 (1,546 Views)

Re: Importing Points

03-23-2012 01:02 PM in reply to: JDMather

Thats the same screen that I have, minus the drawing.

I have the free version for students but I dont think that should make a difference. Is there anything you need to do to prepare the sketch before you start importing points?

I have followed this tutorial to the letter, but it doesn't solve my problem. http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=8324557&linkID=9242018 

The most annoying thing is that the window to choose the file just closes when I press 'open' and no error message appears. 

before

 

 

after

 

I've just noticed that it has the option to 'Repeat Import Points', but when I undo, It closes the part like it would normally with a part that had nothing in it.

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,179
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 6 of 8 (1,542 Views)

Re: Importing Points

03-23-2012 01:41 PM in reply to: sam_melvin

sam_melvin wrote:


I have the free version for students but I dont think that should make a difference.


I am using the student version - it is fully functional.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
New Member
firstpartsllc
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-09-2013
Message 7 of 8 (1,207 Views)

Re: Importing Points

02-09-2013 12:29 PM in reply to: sam_melvin

Your problem could be that Inventor needs to have excel installed to import the data. I had a similar but more severe problem with ProE. It would not even run without excel installed. good luck.

New Member
jellef1
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-21-2013
Message 8 of 8 (1,084 Views)

Re: Importing Points

03-21-2013 12:56 PM in reply to: sam_melvin

I am experiencing the same problem. I fixed it by having one of my friends sending an .ipt with the points already imported. 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube