Inventor General

Reply
Active Member
djlilmattie
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-08-2011
Message 1 of 13 (145 Views)

Import problem

145 Views, 12 Replies
02-15-2012 06:08 AM

I have a 3ds max file that the company i work for needs to get into inventor.  I have tried exporting the file to .sat, .iges, and .dwg file an none have imported the assembly into inventor properly.  Any suggestions on what the problem could be and how to fix it?

*Expert Elite*
MariaManuela
Posts: 844
Registered: ‎12-04-2003
Message 2 of 13 (135 Views)

Re: Import problem

02-15-2012 07:02 AM in reply to: djlilmattie

Software releases please....

 

Maria Manuela Pinho
Application Specialist
Cadtech - Asidek | Autodesk Gold Partner
Autodesk Inventor Professional 2014 | Lenovo W520
Active Member
djlilmattie
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-08-2011
Message 3 of 13 (124 Views)

Re: Import problem

02-15-2012 07:55 AM in reply to: MariaManuela

Inventor 2010 suite and 3ds max 2012.  the exported dwg file will open in autocad but not in inventor.

*Expert Elite*
Posts: 25,246
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 4 of 13 (119 Views)

Re: Import problem

02-15-2012 08:06 AM in reply to: djlilmattie

djlilmattie wrote:

Inventor 2010 suite and 3ds max 2012.  the exported dwg file will open in autocad but not in inventor.


Why not?  Attach the dwg file here.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2014 Edu 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Active Member
djlilmattie
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-08-2011
Message 5 of 13 (108 Views)

Re: Import problem

02-15-2012 08:58 AM in reply to: JDMather

the import finishes without any errors but none of the parts show up.  not sure what the porblem is, maybe a settings issue???  i would gladly attach the file but it exceeds the allowable size.

*Expert Elite*
Posts: 25,246
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 6 of 13 (100 Views)

Re: Import problem

02-15-2012 09:08 AM in reply to: djlilmattie

What does List return in AutoCAD?
Send to jmather_at_pct_dot_edu

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2014 Edu 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Active Member
djlilmattie
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-08-2011
Message 7 of 13 (93 Views)

Re: Import problem

02-15-2012 09:29 AM in reply to: JDMather

what do you mean?

Active Member
djlilmattie
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-08-2011
Message 8 of 13 (90 Views)

Re: Import problem

02-15-2012 09:32 AM in reply to: JDMather

watertight mesh = yes

initial mesh face count = 624

 

this is the message in command line.

*Expert Elite*
Posts: 25,246
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 9 of 13 (84 Views)

Re: Import problem

02-15-2012 09:44 AM in reply to: djlilmattie

Send me the dwg file.

You could try the Sculpt icon (I don't know the command-line command) in AutoCAD first - but I suspect it will fail.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2014 Edu 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Active Member
djlilmattie
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-08-2011
Message 10 of 13 (82 Views)

Re: Import problem

02-15-2012 09:47 AM in reply to: JDMather

i would love to send you the file but i've tried and it is to large even after compressed. 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube