Inventor General

Reply
*Expert Elite*
mcgyvr
Posts: 6,633
Registered: ‎12-01-2004
Message 11 of 20 (152 Views)

Re: ITEM number - is it possbile to control it thru a part?

04-30-2012 10:59 AM in reply to: Infoseeker

nevermind

 

 

 

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

Down with IDW/DWG files..... Long live 3D PMI... Hurry it up already..
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
2015 Product Design Suite Ultimate
Windows 7 64 bit
Core i7 4820k processor (OC'd to 4.4Ghz), Nvidia GTX 770, 16G RAM


Valued Mentor
jeanchile
Posts: 721
Registered: ‎11-10-2009
Message 12 of 20 (139 Views)

Re: ITEM number - is it possbile to control it thru a part?

04-30-2012 12:26 PM in reply to: Infoseeker

I don't have the time to do a search of the forum right now but this has been covered before. Someone has a blog post about it so search the Autodesk Blog sites as well. The basic step is you have to create a custom iProperty that the parts list and balloons both reference. Good luck.

Inventor Professional 2013 (SP-2.3), Product Design Suite Ultimate
Desktop: Intel Core i7 3.4GHz, 16.0 GB RAM, Windows 7 Ultimate SP-1, 64-bit OS, (2) GeForce GTX 580 (331.81), Space Pilot Pro (3.16.1)
Laptop: Intel Core i7 3.9GHz, 16.0 GB RAM, Windows 7 Pro SP-1, 64-bit OS, GeForce GTX 780 (331.81), SpaceNavigator (3.17.7)
Distinguished Contributor
Infoseeker
Posts: 195
Registered: ‎03-15-2012
Message 13 of 20 (133 Views)

Re: ITEM number - is it possbile to control it thru a part?

04-30-2012 12:32 PM in reply to: mcgyvr

"People aren't totally against change (most of the time).. You simply tell them that the process of ensuring a drawings item number ONLY relates to 1 specific part number is not possible with your current software.Then propose simply using the part number instead."

 

This is exacly what I did.

I work for a big organisation that is at the point of transision from Autocad to Inventor, people come up with all kinds of weird ideas.

Distinguished Contributor
Infoseeker
Posts: 195
Registered: ‎03-15-2012
Message 14 of 20 (132 Views)

Re: ITEM number - is it possbile to control it thru a part?

04-30-2012 12:33 PM in reply to: jeanchile

Already figured this out.

Thanks.

Mentor
Doug_DuPont
Posts: 208
Registered: ‎09-23-2008
Message 15 of 20 (113 Views)

Re: ITEM number - is it possbile to control it thru a part?

04-30-2012 01:40 PM in reply to: Infoseeker

I do something what you are asking for. I have a customer that wants Part number, Code Number and Sheet number on each part.

I find it easy to do that in the top assembly Bill of materials. Open Bill pf Materials and add a Custom iProperty Column for each custom property you want. Now fill in the fields in the part row. Now you can drag your custom iproperties down to all your other parts in your BOM just like you can in Excel.

Select done and save, and all this gets saves to all yours parts. Then I need to change my parts list to show the new iproperty.

Hope this helps.

Douglas DuPont
Inventor 2013
GeForce GTX 580
Windows 7 64 Bit
Distinguished Contributor
Infoseeker
Posts: 195
Registered: ‎03-15-2012
Message 16 of 20 (108 Views)

Re: ITEM number - is it possbile to control it thru a part?

04-30-2012 01:54 PM in reply to: Doug_DuPont

I have all nesesery iproperties already incorporated in templates, sometimes I use BOM option as described by you.

Why would you want to have a sheet numer connected to a part?

 

Mentor
Doug_DuPont
Posts: 208
Registered: ‎09-23-2008
Message 17 of 20 (106 Views)

Re: ITEM number - is it possbile to control it thru a part?

04-30-2012 02:07 PM in reply to: Infoseeker

A General Motoring customer of ours wants it that way. It goes back to the AutoCAD days of doing things. It adds more work to output it for them.

Douglas DuPont
Inventor 2013
GeForce GTX 580
Windows 7 64 Bit
*Expert Elite*
PaulMunford
Posts: 891
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 18 of 20 (96 Views)

Re: ITEM number - is it possbile to control it thru a part?

04-30-2012 02:54 PM in reply to: Doug_DuPont

Is this the post that you were refering to?

http://cadsetterout.com/inventor-tutorials/autodesk-inventor-creating-coordinated-bom-for-large-asse...

 

There are some tips about half way down the page on using bubbles to call out custom properties...

 

Paul

The CAD Setter Out Blog @CadSetterOut

Inventor Surfacing | AutoCAD | CAD Standards
 
Please use the Mark Solutions! Accept as Solution or Give Kudos! Kudos functions - Thank you!
Mentor
Doug_DuPont
Posts: 208
Registered: ‎09-23-2008
Message 19 of 20 (94 Views)

Re: ITEM number - is it possbile to control it thru a part?

04-30-2012 03:02 PM in reply to: PaulMunford

Paul,

That is how we are doing it. That's a great step by step.

Douglas DuPont
Inventor 2013
GeForce GTX 580
Windows 7 64 Bit
*Expert Elite*
PaulMunford
Posts: 891
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 20 of 20 (77 Views)

Re: ITEM number - is it possbile to control it thru a part?

04-30-2012 11:18 PM in reply to: Doug_DuPont

Cheers Doug :smileyhappy:

The CAD Setter Out Blog @CadSetterOut

Inventor Surfacing | AutoCAD | CAD Standards
 
Please use the Mark Solutions! Accept as Solution or Give Kudos! Kudos functions - Thank you!

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube