Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I use inventor....

7 REPLIES 7
Message 1 of 8
drobinson
389 Views, 7 Replies

How do I use inventor....

Hello,

I've got a technical drawing (more of a messy sketch but its technical) I'd like to replicate in Autodesk Inventor, but I've never used it before and am finding it to be very unintuitive. At the moment I am drawing everything in Adobe Illustrator then importing the images into Inventor to put together in 3D due to what seems to be Inventors lack of support for polygons (or hexagons to be more precise) with multiple different side dimensions and triangles in general.

I'm sure there are ways to do what I want in Inventor, but there is just a lack of information on how. And what takes 2 clicks to do in Illustrator takes 20 clicks and keyboard commands in Inventor.

So I was wondering if anybody knows of any good resources online (such as videos) which could help me out. The inbuilt tutorial videos didn't help much and the online help manual only works if you know what you're looking for - which in this case I don't.

Any advise would be appreciated.

Thanks.

7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
Jonka45
in reply to: drobinson

Search Rob Cohee on you tube. He does a fundamentals tutorial but if you are serious about using inventor you will need some training as its a professional tool. 

Inventor 2022 Proffesional
Alienware Aurora R8
Windows 10 pro
Inside Leg 35 inch
Message 3 of 8
cbenner

Youtube is a great resource for training videos.  Also take a look at this:  http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/SkillsUSA%20University.pdf