Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How can I make a casing around a complex object?

8 REPLIES 8
SOLVED
Message 1 of 9
connor.conatser.417
849 Views, 8 Replies

How can I make a casing around a complex object?

Hello all, I've never used the forums for autodesk before, so bear with my new-ness.

I need to find a way to make a really small casing (1/8' perferably) of this object, and by casing I mean basically turn this object inside out and create a 1/8 inch wall around it so I can fill it in with silicone; the casing can be a flat wall on a part of an object if it runs into errors and cannot be form fitted, however it'd be more difficult to break apart.

If this cannot work and it isn't physically possible to render this object into a casing, I could settle for 2 rectangular halfs with the object embedded into the center (I also need to make a spout for my material to pour into the casing eventually). The only problem with this is when I fill in the mould with my liquid silicone caulk, it'd be difficult to take the halves apart without causing damage to the molded object. This is the main reason I prefer the fitted casing if possible, if the outer wall was about 1/8' thick, it wouldn't pose too difficult to break it into pieces. 

The printed material is ABS plastic.

The object I wish to mould is supposed to be a flexible silicone material. 

8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9

So you want to create 2 mold halves that would create the part as shown in your ipt file?

Like this http://www.widom-assoc.com/derived_parts2.pdf ?

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Inventor 2023 - Dell Precision 5570

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept Solution button below.
Maybe buy me a beer through Venmo @mcgyvr1269
Message 3 of 9