Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How Do I Get This Project Started?

10 REPLIES 10
SOLVED
Message 1 of 11
steambc
568 Views, 10 Replies

How Do I Get This Project Started?

I need to create a rather unique shape that doesn't seem to lend itself well to CAD.

It's a Mangels whip Car, the old amusement park ride from the early 1900s. I'm fairly new to CAD and I'm stumped as to how to get the shape of the main tub of the car, I've attached a pic to help you visualize it. It seems I would need to create a 2-D representation of the walls of the car and then conform them to an egg-shaped floor, but perhaps I'm missing a simpler solution. Thanks for any help.

Picture Attached.

Steam

Using Inventor Pro 2015
10 REPLIES 10
Message 2 of 11
JDMather
in reply to: steambc

@steambc wrote:

I need to create a rather unique shape that doesn't seem to lend itself well to CAD.

Looks rather simple to me.

How much training have you had?

What version of Inventor are you using?

Are you familiar with Loft and Patch tools?
Can you attach the file here of what you have attempted so far?

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2019 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional

Message 3 of 11
mnthailand

Is inventor fusion not a good option to create the basic form?

Inventor 2011 (x64)
Productstream Professional 2011 (x64)
Windows 7 (x64)

Product design suite Professional 2013
Message 4 of 11
JDMather
in reply to: mnthailand

@mnthailand wrote:

Is inventor fusion not a good option to create the basic form?

I don't understand why anyone would use Fusion if they have Inventor?

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------