Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help with stress/strain analysis on a metal plate

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
69fastback
854 Views, 4 Replies

Help with stress/strain analysis on a metal plate

I am new to inventor however have used other software in the past, I am trying to learn how to carry out stress analysis within inventor and have applied what seemed logical to me, however when I got my results file it does not seem to add up.

I want to investigate the effect that a crack will have on a piece of steel plate, I have applied a fixed constraint to one side of the plate, and a load to the other side, as well as a seperation contact on the sides of the crack (see file attached)

Can anyone advise if this is correct?

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
JDMather
in reply to: 69fastback

@69fastback wrote:

....however when I got my results file it does not seem to add up.

Please explain.  How do the results differ from what you expected?

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2019 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional

The CADWhisperer YouTube Channel

EESignature

Message 3 of 5
69fastback

I thought the results looked low, (all 0.xxx values) however I think what I was doing before was wrong so discarded them. It was also showing the red (which I guess is highest stress point) to be away from the weak point built into my model (the fracture called extrusion 2)

I have started the Stress analysis again, this time I have 'fixed constrained' one end of the plate, and spil the top face to apply a load to the other end, I have applied a material and also generated a mesh. Is it possible for you to check it out and let me know if I am on the right track?