Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help creating female mold from male for skateboard

6 REPLIES 6
Message 1 of 7
Anonymous
2097 Views, 6 Replies

Help creating female mold from male for skateboard

I spent quite a bit of time modeling up a male sided mold to press skateboards in a vaccum bag. I want to create a female mold from this file, but need to make sure there is a 1/2" off set to account for board thickness. I've looked at derive and mold but since I have zero experience with either command I have spent hours going in circles.

The attached picture is what my mold looks like. Just a big rectangle that is 2" thick with some rounded contours cut on the top.

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.

6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
LT.Rusty
in reply to: Anonymous

I'm not saying you can't get to where you need to be from what you've got right now, but if I understand your workflow correctly, it's probably not the way that I'd go about it.

What I would do is model the finished product that you want first, and then from that I'd derive out the mold pieces, either by creating a multiple-solid body and using create part from that, or by creating a new part file and using the finished skateboard to cut away things that didn't look like the mold I wanted.

Post what you've got so far and we'll take a look, see where we can go with it.

Rusty

EESignature

Message 3 of 7
Anonymous

press top view.PNG

press side view.PNG

Here is a top and side view of what I have so far. So there is no way to some how create a plane above the top view and extrude down to form the top side of a press?

Message 4 of 7
LT.Rusty