Inventor General

Reply
Mentor
Posts: 199
Registered: ‎07-28-2007
Message 1 of 7 (365 Views)
Accepted Solution

Get BOM to Merge On Stock Number

365 Views, 6 Replies
06-21-2013 04:28 AM

Is there any way to get the BOM to merge using something other than the Part Number. It seems as though it is the only option for merging the rows. I would like to use the stock number as the key.

 

Thanks, Matt.

Product Support
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎01-08-2013
Message 2 of 7 (352 Views)

Re : Get BOM to Merge On Stock Number

06-21-2013 06:10 AM in reply to: matt_jlt

Hello,

You could try to insert for example a “parts only” BOM (parts list) in an idw file.

Double click on the BOM >> Column Chooser >> Select “Stock Number” property >> Add >> OK

Click on “Stock Number” cell (select the entire column) >> Right Mouse Button >> Group Setting >> Activate “Group” >> First Key “Select “Browser properties” >> select “Stock Number” >> ok

O1: Here you can keep the both options selected and you receive an additional line merging all the Stock Number identical.

O2: If you unselect “display group participant” => only the line with the merged “stock number” items is displayed

 

For additional information, here is the online wikihelp link:

http://wikihelp.autodesk.com/enu?adskContextId=REDIRECT_IDD_BOM_GROUP_SETTINGS&language=ENU&release=...

 

I hope that will help you

Please, mark any response clicking on "Accept as Solution" button if it answers your question 



Nicolas Bourquin
*Expert Elite*
cbenner
Posts: 2,839
Registered: ‎04-06-2010
Message 3 of 7 (332 Views)

Re : Get BOM to Merge On Stock Number

06-21-2013 08:09 AM in reply to: Nicolas.Bourquin

Nicholas,

 

This may serve depending on what the OP is trying to do, but this is in the parts list... not the BOM.

 

To anser the original question, a BOM may only be mergen with Part Number.  However, depending on what exactly you're trying to show... there are ways to force it to do what you want using expressions.

 

Can you past an image, or example of what you'd like to show?

ChrisB

ADSK_Expert_Elite_Icon_S_Color_Blk.png

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Thank you! :smileyhappy:

http://cbennertipstricks.blogspot.com/


   

Mentor
Posts: 199
Registered: ‎07-28-2007
Message 4 of 7 (316 Views)

Re : Get BOM to Merge On Stock Number

06-21-2013 07:05 PM in reply to: cbenner

Thanks for the quick replies,

 

Chris is right, I was talking about the BOM, not the parts list. I was just hoping to get the BOM to merge using the stock number instead of the part number. As both of these proeprties are used for other things and cannot be changed, it looks as though I have my answer.

 

Thanks Guys.

Valued Mentor
BLHDrafting
Posts: 350
Registered: ‎10-12-2012
Message 5 of 7 (294 Views)

Re : Get BOM to Merge On Stock Number

06-23-2013 08:27 PM in reply to: matt_jlt

This is the exact context of a request made to the beta testing forums. But no definite yes/no answer from the developers.

 

I would love to have control over which column the BOM merged rows on, and in my case Stock Number would be it.

Brendan Henderson

Web www.blh.com.au
Twitter @BLHDrafting

Windows 7 x64 -64 GB Ram, Intel Xeon E5-1620 @ 3.6 GHz
ATI FirePro V7800 2 GB, 180 GB SSD & 1 TB HDD, Inv R2013 PDS Premium SP2 Update 3 (Build 200), Vault 2013 Workgroup Update 2 (Build 17.2.9.0)
*Expert Elite*
cbenner
Posts: 2,839
Registered: ‎04-06-2010
Message 6 of 7 (278 Views)

Re : Get BOM to Merge On Stock Number

06-24-2013 04:55 AM in reply to: BLHDrafting

Brendan,

 

If you're in a beta testing forum... you really ought not be revealing anything you've seen there....  just sayin... that being said, this idea has been in the idea station forum (which is an open forum), for a while.

ChrisB

ADSK_Expert_Elite_Icon_S_Color_Blk.png

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Thank you! :smileyhappy:

http://cbennertipstricks.blogspot.com/


   

*Expert Elite*
cbenner
Posts: 2,839
Registered: ‎04-06-2010
Message 7 of 7 (277 Views)

Re : Get BOM to Merge On Stock Number

06-24-2013 04:58 AM in reply to: matt_jlt

matt_jlt wrote:

Thanks for the quick replies,

 

Chris is right, I was talking about the BOM, not the parts list. I was just hoping to get the BOM to merge using the stock number instead of the part number. As both of these proeprties are used for other things and cannot be changed, it looks as though I have my answer.

 

Thanks Guys.


There still may be a way, but it sounds like it may be harder since you're using those properties in other places.  In our frame BOM's we tweaked Part Number to use an expression, allowing us to merge it and show the results we were after.  Then for the parts list, we put the ACTUAL part number in an unused property, and simply changed the column header to part number.  If it sounds like this woulr work for you let me know, I have a blog post that would give you the lowdown on how we did it.

ChrisB

ADSK_Expert_Elite_Icon_S_Color_Blk.png

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Thank you! :smileyhappy:

http://cbennertipstricks.blogspot.com/


   

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the Autodesk Community?
We’re looking at a few different ways to improve the “All Forums” landing page and need your feedback! If interested, please take a few minutes to fill out the following Usability Study. Thank you for your time!

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube