Inventor General

Reply
Member
cornek
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-29-2013
Message 1 of 6 (132 Views)

Geometry not updating after replacing a component in assembly

132 Views, 5 Replies
04-29-2013 08:54 PM

I have geometry not updating after replacing a component in an assembly.

I have drawn part A and in the assembly environment I have projected cut edges on a XY Plane in a 2D Sketch.

After replacing component A in the assembly with part B (not identical but very close) i was expecting the projected geometry to update. But it doesn't. The "local update" button is greyed out in assembly mode. also the Rebuild command does not seem to update the projected geometry.

 

I can see the new 3d shape and the old projected geometry. Can anyone point me in the right direction how to get the projected geometry to update?

 

Many Thanks

Corné 

Inventor 2013 Build 176 SP1.1

 

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 3,928
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 6 (125 Views)

Re: Geometry not updating after replacing a component in assembly

04-29-2013 09:40 PM in reply to: cornek

It never will as by design. Part A is the part that had the geometry projecting on to it from another part in the assembly. It is only adaptive within the context of this assembly. If you place part A in another assembly it won't be adaptive in that assembly until it had geometry projected on to it as well.

 

You may want to attach the IPT's and IAM file as well so we can see exactly what you are doing.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 up1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Member
cornek
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-29-2013
Message 3 of 6 (102 Views)

Re: Geometry not updating after replacing a component in assembly

04-30-2013 02:43 PM in reply to: blair

Hi Blair, 

 

Some more info on what I want to achieve. We are a marine design company and part of our day to day work is to design a Hull (vessel) and engineer the metal structure ( like bulkheads or frames). The hull shape (surface) comes from 3party software (Maxsurf). After importing this hull surface (IGES) into Inventor, we draw in the transverse structure by extracting the transverse hull shape using "project cut edges". I have attached an assembly file in which a have done this once. Normally the hull has transverse structrure every 1m. The transverse curve will then be used to sweep a section along to create a transverse frame. 

 

Question, if at some point during the design stage the hull shape changes, I would like to replace the hull surface with the new hull shape and have the inventor assembly update the transverse frames.

 

I have attached Hull 1.ipt, Hull 2.ipt, Frame A.ipt & Assembly Frames.iam

The Hull files show only the port side of the vessel as the vessel is symmetrical. Hull 2 is slighly tweaked version of hull 1 with an exaggerated hollow at -20m. After replacing Hull 1 with Hull 2 in the assembly i would expect the projected edge of Frame A to update to the new shape.    

 

  

 

Member
cornek
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-29-2013
Message 4 of 6 (101 Views)

Re: Geometry not updating after replacing a component in assembly

04-30-2013 02:44 PM in reply to: cornek

AND FILE #4

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 3,928
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 5 of 6 (95 Views)

Re: Geometry not updating after replacing a component in assembly

04-30-2013 03:50 PM in reply to: cornek

As soon as you replace a part, you loose the adaptive, as in my earlier post.

 

Think of it as an engine. You have a engine with a 130mm bore for the cylinders. If you created the cylinders using the that engine bore as a projected sketch for the diameter of the piston. If you changed the engine bore the piston would change. 

 

Now you delete/remove the block from the IAM file, all the connectivity of the block to the pistons is lost. Inserting a new block in the model won't change the piston size as all the connectivity information to the old engine block has been lost.

 

I don't know of any way to make this work.

 

 

 

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 up1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Member
cornek
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-29-2013
Message 6 of 6 (92 Views)

Re: Geometry not updating after replacing a component in assembly

04-30-2013 04:10 PM in reply to: blair
Thanks for your help and quick replies Blair.

I understand the limitations of adaptive but we were explained by the autodesk sales rep. and inventor instructor (course) that it was possible to achieve this in inventor. They did not explain how though. I turned this forum to find a solution how to achieve this, as the method described above (replace component in assembly) does not work. And you have confirmed this.

In the meantime I have asked a colleague to perform these tasks in Solidworks and he successfully replaced the hull in the assembly with the geometry updating automatically following the same steps.
So I still have hope we can achieve this in Inventor.
Can anybody confirm Blair's reply that I am looking at a dead end here to get this to work in Inventor?
Or any other ways of achieving this in inventor?
Would using a program like ALIAS to bring the IGES into Inventor be of any help?
Really desperate to use The Product Design Suite for our hull design.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube