Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

First attempt at making a spring

5 REPLIES 5
SOLVED
Message 1 of 6
Davarn-Tool&Die
482 Views, 5 Replies

First attempt at making a spring

WHISKER.jpg

This is my first attempt at making a whisker sensor.

All went well until the curved area between the coil and the stem. I attempted a a sweep using the end of the coil and the 3D sketch. no good. then between the stem and the 3D sketch. no such luck.

I know this is a no brainer. Thanks in advance in getting me over this and many other humps.

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
rdyson
in reply to: Davarn-Tool&Die

PDSU 2016
Message 3 of 6
JDMather
in reply to: Davarn-Tool&Die

I have to run - so I didn't have time to get this perfect, but I modeled a little differently attempting to use a Bridge Curve.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2019 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional

Message 4 of 6
Davarn-Tool&Die
in reply to: JDMather

Any ideas where I went wrong? Why my transition failed?

Message 5 of 6

@darnold wrote:

Any ideas where I went wrong? Why my transition failed?

Sweeping along your transition path failed because the path is not tangent-continuous.  Your transition consists of three path segments: Line1, Spline, and Line2.  The spline is not smoothly connected to either line.

If you edit your 3D Sketch1, add a Tangent constraint between Line1 and Spline, and add another one between Spline and Line2, then you will see sweep succeed.