Inventor General

Reply
Valued Contributor
TAHDESIGN
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎06-25-2004
Message 1 of 5 (72 Views)

First Sketch Number

72 Views, 4 Replies
01-05-2005 04:51 AM
I recently made a slight change to my part template file. I turn on the origin planes from the RMB menu. This way the toggling of the plane visibility is available in my newly made parts.

However, now the first sketch in all my new parts is sketch3.
Any ideas as to why and any way to get it back so that my first sketch is sketch1?
*Kent Keller
Message 2 of 5 (72 Views)

Re: First Sketch Number

01-05-2005 07:03 AM in reply to: TAHDESIGN
You could try opening the template and changing the sketch name to sketch1 but I am guessing the next sketch made would be sketch4. If I remember right there is a way to start a new file that isn't based off a template?? Unfortunately I don't remember how, but maybe someone else does? If I am not just dreaming about it you could do that, then set things the way you want them, and finally save over the top of the standard.ipt. -- Kent Keller http://www.KWiKMcad.com Autodesk Discussion Group Facilitator "TAHDESIGN" wrote in message news:22549914.1104929546935.JavaMail.jive@jiveforum1.autodesk.com... >I recently made a slight change to my part template file. I turn on the >origin planes from the RMB menu. This way the toggling of the plane >visibility is available in my newly made parts. > > However, now the first sketch in all my new parts is sketch3. > Any ideas as to why and any way to get it back so that my first sketch > is sketch1?
Distinguished Contributor
tahdesign
Posts: 1,260
Registered: ‎08-06-2004
Message 3 of 5 (72 Views)

Re: First Sketch Number

01-05-2005 08:39 AM in reply to: TAHDESIGN
Any idea as to why this happened in the first place?
I do not believe tht I created two previuos sketches in my template file.
*Hugh Henderson \(Autodesk\)
Message 4 of 5 (72 Views)

Re: First Sketch Number

01-05-2005 09:40 AM in reply to: TAHDESIGN
Kent, You can create a document "on the fly" by holding down CTRL+SHIFT then create a new document using the pull down pull-down (as opposed to the File Open dialog). TAHDESIGN, Would you consider posting your part template to the autodesk.customer.files forum so we may take a look? If Kent's suggestion(s) don't work for some reason, we can post new templates for you. Just let us know which release version you would like. Also, did you customize your templates in any way? Best regards, -- Hugh Henderson (Inventor Workflow QA) "Kent Keller" wrote in message news:41dc0211$1_3@newsprd01... > You could try opening the template and changing the sketch name to > sketch1 but I am guessing the next sketch made would be sketch4. > > If I remember right there is a way to start a new file that isn't based > off a template?? Unfortunately I don't remember how, but maybe someone > else does? If I am not just dreaming about it you could do that, > then set things the way you want them, and finally save over the top of > the standard.ipt. > > -- > Kent Keller > http://www.KWiKMcad.com > > Autodesk Discussion Group Facilitator > > "TAHDESIGN" wrote in message > news:22549914.1104929546935.JavaMail.jive@jiveforum1.autodesk.com... > >I recently made a slight change to my part template file. I turn on the > >origin planes from the RMB menu. This way the toggling of the plane > >visibility is available in my newly made parts. > > > > However, now the first sketch in all my new parts is sketch3. > > Any ideas as to why and any way to get it back so that my first sketch > > is sketch1? > >
Distinguished Contributor
tahdesign
Posts: 1,260
Registered: ‎08-06-2004
Message 5 of 5 (72 Views)

Re: First Sketch Number

01-05-2005 12:19 PM in reply to: TAHDESIGN
Hugh,

The ctrl+shift methods does make a ipt file that has sketch1 as the first sketch placed. I do not believe that I made any changes to my part templates.

So producing a ipt this way and then over-writing my templates will solve the sketch number problem.

I guess my overall question here is what is IV using the make the file with this approach if not the template?

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube