Inventor General

Reply
Contributor
nmgmarques
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎04-03-2011
Message 1 of 14 (1,037 Views)
Accepted Solution

Fillet lines in different work planes?

1037 Views, 13 Replies
06-26-2011 10:25 AM

Hi /b/!

 

I am stumped on a problem. I am trying to create a bottle holder for a bike or whatever. I go the jist of working with multiple work planes to create half of the contour I wanted and then sweeping it to create the metal frame for the thing. Mirror completed the part. But as you can see here my edges are all right angled. I know I can fillet the edges out, but I wanted to fillet the tubing instead to give the appearance of having been bent out of a single metal rod. I tried filleting between the lines, but it doesn0t work (I think cuz I created the lines on separate work planes).

 

Can anyone help or point in the correct direction? Am I supposed to make the guide line in a single sketch? If so, please do tell how.

 

All help greatly appreciated.

 

Original work file in attachments below.

*Pro
Dennis_Jeffrey
Posts: 1,369
Registered: ‎12-15-2003
Message 2 of 14 (1,027 Views)

Re: Fillet lines in different work planes?

06-26-2011 04:11 PM in reply to: nmgmarques

You need work on the visualization. Numerous workplanes are not needed.

 

I created one workplane in the model to build the overall skeleton. The skeleton was used to create a 3D sketch by including the skeleton geometry. I then added bends in the 3D Sketch. One workplane was created at the end of the path so that the sweep profile could be made. No need to fillet Sketches one, two and three.

 

Post your end result back.

 

4-9-2011-NG000126.png

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
____________________________________________________________
Dennis Jeffrey, Author and Manufacturing Trainer, Autodesk Inventor Certified Expert
Autodesk Manufacturing Implementation Certified Expert
Autodesk Silver Manufacturing Partner

Subscribe to the free digital "The Creative Inventor Magazine" now available at: http://teknigroup....

XP64 SP2, GeForce 9800GT-1GB, Driver: 6.14.12.7061, 8GB Ram, AMD Athlon II 3.2 Ghz
Laptop: Win7-64 Pro, 4GB, ATI Graphics on board, 2012 Ultimate, IV2011 or 2010 Pro, all SP's
Contributor
nmgmarques
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎04-03-2011
Message 3 of 14 (1,002 Views)

Re: Fillet lines in different work planes?

06-27-2011 06:00 AM in reply to: Dennis_Jeffrey

Hi.

First, let me start by thanking you for the reply. So, if I understand correctly, I trace the tube path in one go, changing my perspective as I go? I can understand that, but how do I go about changing the line direction? I have tried selecting a different plane at the end of the line, but Inventor won't let me unless it's a new sketch. ANy video tutorials or examples out there for me to see?

*Pro
Dennis_Jeffrey
Posts: 1,369
Registered: ‎12-15-2003
Message 4 of 14 (1,000 Views)

Re: Fillet lines in different work planes?

06-27-2011 06:10 AM in reply to: nmgmarques

Drag the EOP marker up in my file. Then step it down one notch at a time to see how I created the skeleton. I only needed one workplane for the skeleton creation.

 

I'll be out for the day. Hopefully someone else can help.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
____________________________________________________________
Dennis Jeffrey, Author and Manufacturing Trainer, Autodesk Inventor Certified Expert
Autodesk Manufacturing Implementation Certified Expert
Autodesk Silver Manufacturing Partner

Subscribe to the free digital "The Creative Inventor Magazine" now available at: http://teknigroup....

XP64 SP2, GeForce 9800GT-1GB, Driver: 6.14.12.7061, 8GB Ram, AMD Athlon II 3.2 Ghz
Laptop: Win7-64 Pro, 4GB, ATI Graphics on board, 2012 Ultimate, IV2011 or 2010 Pro, all SP's
Contributor
nmgmarques
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎04-03-2011
Message 5 of 14 (995 Views)

Re: Fillet lines in different work planes?

06-27-2011 08:29 AM in reply to: Dennis_Jeffrey

Ok. So I built a skeleton using different planes (not workplanes) and then using that skeleton created the path with a new 3D Sketch. The resulting part does look better and I do have some bends in there now. Thanks for that, btw. Much better.

 

But some intersections are still not bent. Suggestions?

 

Link to images here!

 

And the altered part file below:

 

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,186
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 6 of 14 (978 Views)

Re: Fillet lines in different work planes?

06-27-2011 01:34 PM in reply to: nmgmarques

It looked to me like you were doing too much work.
Drag down the EOP step--by-step in attached.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Contributor
nmgmarques
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎04-03-2011
Message 7 of 14 (974 Views)

Re: Fillet lines in different work planes?

06-27-2011 01:50 PM in reply to: JDMather

I swear to God I am pulling the End Of Part down, and I see what both of you did. You seem to have created "outlines" or "guides" for the 3D Sketch. That much I have understood. But I can't for the life of me figure out how you go from that to the 3D Sketch. Do you convert the lines or something? I swear I am trying here :smileysad: Please don't give up on me. Is there any chance for a short video so I can see how it was done?

 

JD's is perfect. I just can't figure out how you did the 3D Sketch from those 2D's.

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,186
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 8 of 14 (971 Views)

Re: Fillet lines in different work planes?

06-27-2011 01:57 PM in reply to: nmgmarques

See Tutorial 7 here http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm

and attached image.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
*Pro
Dennis_Jeffrey
Posts: 1,369
Registered: ‎12-15-2003
Message 9 of 14 (960 Views)

Re: Fillet lines in different work planes?

06-27-2011 06:09 PM in reply to: nmgmarques

Here's a custom video for you. I started with the existing sketch1...

 

BTW, I have a 32 hour live web training class starting July 12th. Check it out.

 

More info here: http://teknigroup.com  go to Events link.

 

 

Video link: http://teknigroup.com/Videos/2012Q2/3D%20Sweep1/3D%20Sweep1.html

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
____________________________________________________________
Dennis Jeffrey, Author and Manufacturing Trainer, Autodesk Inventor Certified Expert
Autodesk Manufacturing Implementation Certified Expert
Autodesk Silver Manufacturing Partner

Subscribe to the free digital "The Creative Inventor Magazine" now available at: http://teknigroup....

XP64 SP2, GeForce 9800GT-1GB, Driver: 6.14.12.7061, 8GB Ram, AMD Athlon II 3.2 Ghz
Laptop: Win7-64 Pro, 4GB, ATI Graphics on board, 2012 Ultimate, IV2011 or 2010 Pro, all SP's
Contributor
nmgmarques
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎04-03-2011
Message 10 of 14 (945 Views)

Re: Fillet lines in different work planes?

06-28-2011 02:40 AM in reply to: Dennis_Jeffrey

Thanks to both for the great help (and video). It was just what I needed. As for the course, I wish I had the money to spare. But I don't. :smileysad:

 

I am trying my best to learn as much as possible by myself since I am not getting any support from work. As far as they are concerned, it's "figure it out yourself" all the way.

 

I'd like to make a couple of more questions. One is related to this part (well, actually aplicable to any part) and the other I'll opena  new topic because it's related to an assembly. Related to this part, I know I can change the aspect of the part by selecting the body and then going to the material dropbox and selecting corresponding materials. But what if I want red polished aluminium or chrome? How can I select the material (say Chrome) and make it red or blue or whatever color I want?

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube