Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

F.E.A. Constraints bonding???

6 REPLIES 6
Message 1 of 7
grimmtr
785 Views, 6 Replies

F.E.A. Constraints bonding???

I'm a student somewhat new to inventor's F.E.A. Capabilities. I am trying to run some stress analysis on a fiberglass rod attached to a steel end fitting with an epoxy. I have all the material properties,but I run into problems after I have made the assembly. The epoxy cures and hardens so it is attached to the rod, but the end fitting is sprayed with mold release so the epoxy is not truly attached to it. However the shape of the cavity inside the end fitting that the epoxy cures in should hold the rod inside the end fitting. My question is how should these materials be constrained, bonded, or both? 

6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
Inv_kaos
in reply to: grimmtr

Probabaly a separation contact on the touching faces, maybe Sliding/No Separation depending on the clearances and assumption of small displacements. Have you filled out the orthotropic properties for your fibreglass rod - this is usually the hardest information to source accurately?

Please mark as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question or "Kudos" if you found it useful.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stew, AICP
Inventor Professional 2013, Autodesk Simulation Multiphysics 2013
Windows 7 x64 Core i7 32GB Ram FX2000
Message 3 of 7
blair
in reply to: Inv_kaos

You may wish to model the epoxy to proper fill the cavity of the rod end to your fiberglass rod. You may have a problem with the properties of the fiberglass depending on resin content and your glass strand

Material Specific gravity Tensile strength MPa (ksi) Compressive strength MPa (ksi)