Inventor General

Reply
Valued Mentor
Logos_Atum
Posts: 492
Registered: ‎07-10-2012
Message 1 of 12 (383 Views)
Accepted Solution

Extrusion Error

383 Views, 11 Replies
05-21-2013 02:51 AM

Hello there,

 

sometimes I´m getting an error message which is telling

me that the operation did not change the number of faces.

 

As I am using extrusions to change the length in a certain

direction while leaving the basic length unchanged this is

quite necessary. The fact that makes me really curious is

that sometimes all Í need to do is to redo the extrusion to

make the message disappear... Sometimes I need to re-

start Inventor.

 

Extruding a box farther won´t change faces, but is not wrong

and surely serves some purpose in my assemblies and parts.

 

How to avoid this?

 

 

Kind regards

 

Daniel 

- 2500K @ 4.2Ghz- 8GB - Radeon7970 -
- Xeon 1230V2 @ stock Ghz- 32GB - W7000-
- 2x Xeon 2670V2 - 64GB - W7000 -

- Factory Design Suite Premium Subscription-
*Expert Elite*
mrattray
Posts: 2,456
Registered: ‎09-13-2011
Message 2 of 12 (366 Views)

Re: Extrusion Error

05-21-2013 04:34 AM in reply to: Logos_Atum
There's probably a better way to do what you're trying to do. Can you post an example?
Mike (not Matt) Rattray

Valued Mentor
Logos_Atum
Posts: 492
Registered: ‎07-10-2012
Message 3 of 12 (360 Views)

Re: Extrusion Error

05-21-2013 05:39 AM in reply to: mrattray

Hello Mike,

 

of course I can, please have a look at the attached file.

Despite of the fact there is a error message sometimes

it all works very well. 

 

Kind regards

 

Daniel

- 2500K @ 4.2Ghz- 8GB - Radeon7970 -
- Xeon 1230V2 @ stock Ghz- 32GB - W7000-
- 2x Xeon 2670V2 - 64GB - W7000 -

- Factory Design Suite Premium Subscription-
Distinguished Mentor
swhite
Posts: 531
Registered: ‎11-08-2012
Message 4 of 12 (351 Views)

Re: Extrusion Error

05-21-2013 06:05 AM in reply to: Logos_Atum

It's probably just a matter of which option is being selected, or the default direction of the extrusion. You might also consider using the move face command, it you are simply extending the surface in the same direction. Just be aware that none of these operations will change the given length of the part, so part length in the BOM will not match any length shown on the drawing, without puting a sketch on the part to reflect the new length, or redoing the original extrusion. If this is acceptable then move face will work just as well. You could also set the extrusion as an adaptive part, which will allow it to adapt in length dynamically to any other constraints you place. So if you vary the height of your frame, the leg will adapt in response.

 

Attached something slapped together real quick to give you an example to see if such may be what you are looking for. Change the "Change Me" constraint to see how it works. if the rail height never changes, just the offset to the top of the leg, then change the other constraint set at 2" I believe I made it as. You would of course first have to ground the horizontal member if that is your intent.

 

Personally I would use Frame Generator, but thats another subject altogether :smileyhappy:

Steven White
Lee C. Moore, Inc.
www.lcm-wci.com
Inventor 2011
Intel Dual Xeon E31225 @ 3.1 GHz CPU
16 GB RAM
NVIDIA Quadro 600 GPU
Windows 7 - 64 Bit
*Expert Elite*
mrattray
Posts: 2,456
Registered: ‎09-13-2011
Message 5 of 12 (347 Views)

Re: Extrusion Error

05-21-2013 06:12 AM in reply to: Logos_Atum
I was hoping for Inventor files so I could figure out what you're trying to accomplish.
Are you trying to use these extrusions to locate those angle iron pieces? If so then you should use a sketch for that, not a feature.
Mike (not Matt) Rattray

Valued Mentor
Logos_Atum
Posts: 492
Registered: ‎07-10-2012
Message 6 of 12 (344 Views)

Re: Extrusion Error

05-21-2013 06:23 AM in reply to: mrattray

Hello Mike,

 

I see - it´s attached now.

 

Kind regards

 

Daniel

- 2500K @ 4.2Ghz- 8GB - Radeon7970 -
- Xeon 1230V2 @ stock Ghz- 32GB - W7000-
- 2x Xeon 2670V2 - 64GB - W7000 -

- Factory Design Suite Premium Subscription-
*Expert Elite*
mrattray
Posts: 2,456
Registered: ‎09-13-2011
Message 7 of 12 (331 Views)

Re: Extrusion Error

05-21-2013 06:42 AM in reply to: Logos_Atum
No offense, but this model is a complete mess.
You should not be creating features to edit existing features, instead you should be editing the features and sketches that created them. You have tons of redundant features and sketches. You have a UCS that does nothing, I don't know what you're trying to do with "conna" & "connb", you have a .1mm extrusion that extends an existing angle which is immediately followed by a .1mm cut to remove it. You have all of these pieces modeled in a single part file, but you haven't made them independent bodies. I could go on...
I strongly suggest you discard all of this and try again as a simple bottom up assembly.
Have you had any formal training for Inventor? You should ask your VAR if they offer courses.
I apologize if I come off harsh, but this is really terrible work.
Mike (not Matt) Rattray

Valued Mentor
Logos_Atum
Posts: 492
Registered: ‎07-10-2012
Message 8 of 12 (307 Views)

Re: Extrusion Error

05-21-2013 07:36 AM in reply to: mrattray

Yes I know, and I almost added this line myself :smileywink:

 

I never took official training when it comes to parametric modeling.

The major problem was that I had to add correction values later on.

It started quite simple and more and more had to be added. I had

to turn fixed values into parameters and add geometry not included

in the first place. The 0,1 mm are to reverse coordinates. By now I´m

doing this by multiplying the value by (-1) but this started quite some

time ago. Conn a and Conn b are for FDS and connect parts to other

parts. It works pretty well despite of the mess. I did not create inde-

pendant bodies as they would be of no use so far. The UCS is for

FDS too.

 

Even if you might sound harsh you surely got a point - and that´s the

only thing that matters to me. When becoming a technical draftsman

noone ever eighter expected or demanded multi body object modeling.

I got to teach myself from scratch. Other parts look better, I´d blame

the changes that had to be made afterwards the original object was

finished. Beeing in a hurry I extended the existing model and did not do

it aknew.

 

If you consider sharing a e-mail adress, I might send you a model of

the other shelve I did. You´ll probably notice it´s way better. Just because

of the fact that all the variables have been laid out plainly before the mo-

delling started.

 

ANY help is very welcome and I am a starter with not much experience

aside from school. And school did not cover this portion of Inventor or any

part of the FDS at all. I have been a good Student ( averaging 1,5, between

A and B it is I think and I could do all A easily) and a quick learner. But there

is not much material on the net of how to use model multi body objects in

the best way.

  

Go ahead, any lesson learned is a good lesson. I neighter mind nor am I

upset. So if you consider giving me a chance- I will not disappoint you.

 

 

 

Daniel

- 2500K @ 4.2Ghz- 8GB - Radeon7970 -
- Xeon 1230V2 @ stock Ghz- 32GB - W7000-
- 2x Xeon 2670V2 - 64GB - W7000 -

- Factory Design Suite Premium Subscription-
Valued Mentor
Logos_Atum
Posts: 492
Registered: ‎07-10-2012
Message 9 of 12 (196 Views)

Betreff: Extrusion Error

08-29-2013 11:10 AM in reply to: Logos_Atum

It´1,48... which means A in Germany

 

 

- 2500K @ 4.2Ghz- 8GB - Radeon7970 -
- Xeon 1230V2 @ stock Ghz- 32GB - W7000-
- 2x Xeon 2670V2 - 64GB - W7000 -

- Factory Design Suite Premium Subscription-
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,186
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 10 of 12 (187 Views)

Re: Extrusion Error

08-29-2013 11:44 AM in reply to: Logos_Atum

I recommend you start here

http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/SkillsUSA%20University.pdf
http://inventortrenches.blogspot.com/p/inventor-tutorials.html
http://wikihelp.autodesk.com/enu?adskContextId=HELP_TUTORIALS&language=ENU&release=2014&product=Inve...

 

Well, I posted that before taking a look at your file.

There are a lot of problems, but it looks like you are using some logic.

 

I recommend you use more equal (=) constraints rather than duplicating dimensions.

As you get experience - you might want to use the Frame Generator for a design like this.

If you get stuff in your feature tree like the UCS or the Connectors that you don't need, right click on them immediately and delete them.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube