Inventor General

Reply
Valued Contributor
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎01-18-2006
Message 1 of 7 (1,018 Views)
Accepted Solution

Error when attempting to create report from simulation

1018 Views, 6 Replies
02-07-2011 01:19 PM

Hello -

 

I just ran a simulation (a simple modal analysis) and attempted to create a report.  It ran through all the pictures and then gave the following error message in a dialog box:

 

   "c:\program files\autodesk\inventor 2011\Design Data\Simulation\Report\Main.htm contains an incorrect path"

 

The only button on the dialog box is "OK" and when I press it, I don't get a report.

 

It does this regardless of whether I ask for an HTML or RTF report file.  I looked, and the directory & file do not exist at C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Inventor 2011\  ...there is a Simulation folder but no Design Data. I tried running Inventor as Administrator and it did not create the folder.  I tried repairing the Inventor installation & that didn't work either.

 

I am running Inventor 2011 Pro SP1 (Build 282); Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit.

 

 

 

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 3,633
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 7 (1,008 Views)

Re: Error when attempting to create report from simulation

02-07-2011 02:10 PM in reply to: nhahn

Try changing the defaults in the report settings and pick a different folder. Try creating a "Temp" directory on your c:\ drive and use it.

 

At the bottom of your first screen for the FEA Report you can select where you want the report to be generated. The standard default is <Current path to *.iam file>. Looks like someone has changed it.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Valued Contributor
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎01-18-2006
Message 3 of 7 (1,006 Views)

Re: Error when attempting to create report from simulation

02-07-2011 02:14 PM in reply to: nhahn

I'll double-check, but I don't think that's it, since I didn't use the default report location.  I specified several other places (i.e. My Documents), none of which worked.  The directory it's giving the error about is not where I specified the report to be created.

 

Is it looking for some sort of report template that wasn't installed, or has the wrong path?

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 3,633
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 4 of 7 (1,000 Views)

Re: Error when attempting to create report from simulation

02-07-2011 03:00 PM in reply to: nhahn

To me the error report is trying to save to a directory that doesn't exist. Try editing the "Locations"

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Employee
Posts: 635
Registered: ‎06-07-2007
Message 5 of 7 (955 Views)

Re: Error when attempting to create report from simulation

02-08-2011 08:35 AM in reply to: nhahn

Hi nhahn,

 

  The report looks for the template in the "...\Design Data\Simulation\Report" folder.  It looks like you're using Win7 / Vista.  For those O/S' installer places the files here: C:\Users\Public\Documents\Autodesk\Inventor 2011\Design Data

 

  The report template files are located here: C:\Users\Public\Documents\Autodesk\Inventor 2011\Design Data\Simulation\Report

 

  I can reproduce your issue if I change the Inventor project file's design data folder to some thing like C:\Program Files.  I'm wondering if you might have a non-default design data folder specified in your project file.

 

  You can either change the Design Data folder in the project file back to "default" or else copy the Report Template files (with the Simualtion\Report folder structure) over to the design data location specified in your active project file.

 

Hope this helps!

 

Thanks, -Hugh

 

 



Hugh Henderson
Simulation QA Engineer
DLS
Valued Contributor
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎01-18-2006
Message 6 of 7 (946 Views)

Re: Error when attempting to create report from simulation

02-08-2011 09:48 AM in reply to: nhahn

Yes, thank you.  The files were present at the location you specified in the user directory.  We have the project design data folder pointed to a server so it's the same for all projects.  Since the Design Data folder wasn't present on the server, perhaps it defaulted to the Program Files location (though I don't understand why it didn't default to the Inventor default design data location (under Application Options > File tab), which was still pointing to the right place in my user directory.

 

In any case, it appears to work now, so good enough.  Thanks again Hugh.

 

 

Employee
Posts: 635
Registered: ‎06-07-2007
Message 7 of 7 (943 Views)

Re: Error when attempting to create report from simulation

02-08-2011 09:51 AM in reply to: nhahn

Excellent!  We're glad we could be of assistance.

 

We appreciate the follow-up.

 

Sincerely, -Hugh



Hugh Henderson
Simulation QA Engineer
DLS

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube