Inventor General

Reply
Contributor
Garren1013
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎06-04-2012
Message 1 of 5 (412 Views)

Edit Property Fields in drawing; Default Value column width problem.

412 Views, 4 Replies
01-15-2013 10:43 AM

When I go and edit the Field Text of a title block I have in a drawing and it opens the Edit Property Fields dialog box, the Value column width is always squished down and I always have to slide it over to make it wider to be able to see what I'm typing.  Is there some way to change the default width and make it wider so that I don't have to perform this annoying task over and over again?  It does it every time I open up the Edit Property Fields box in a drawing.  This is driving me insane.

Inventor 2013
Windows XP
*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,175
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 2 of 5 (403 Views)

Re: Edit Property Fields in drawing; Default Value column width problem.

01-15-2013 11:35 AM in reply to: Garren1013

Can you post some images?  When I edit my title block through edit definition I am not seeing what you are describing in the edit format text editor.

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2013
(Colossians 3:23-25)

Contributor
Garren1013
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎06-04-2012
Message 3 of 5 (395 Views)

Re: Edit Property Fields in drawing; Default Value column width problem.

01-15-2013 01:51 PM in reply to: Garren1013

Here's what I'm talking about.

Inventor 2013
Windows XP
*Expert Elite*
LT.Rusty
Posts: 690
Registered: ‎10-23-2012
Message 4 of 5 (381 Views)

Re: Edit Property Fields in drawing; Default Value column width problem.

01-15-2013 03:03 PM in reply to: Garren1013

Why not just set those fields to draw from the iProperties of the part / assembly / drawing?  If you do that you can avoid the edit field text dialogue entirely, and you can really automate a lot of your drawing data.


___________________________________________________________

Product Design Suite Ultimate 2013, 2014, 2015

Work: Dell Precision T1600 (Xeon E3-1280 / 16GB / 512 GB SSD / 250 GB (Internal) / 1 TB (External) / Quadro 600)
Home: i7-4770k / ASUS Z87-Pro / 16GB / 250 GB SSD / 1 TB HDD / 3 TB USB3 HDD / Radeon R9-270X 4GB
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite P755-S5269 (i7-2630QM / 8 GB / 250 GB SSD / 750 GB HDD / GT540M)

*Pro
sbixler
Posts: 1,868
Registered: ‎09-15-2003
Message 5 of 5 (366 Views)

Re: Edit Property Fields in drawing; Default Value column width problem.

01-16-2013 06:07 AM in reply to: Garren1013

No way that I know of to set that default width.  Go to the Inventor IdeaStation to submit this to Autodesk as an enhancement request.

Sam B
Inventor 2012 Certified Professional

Please click "Accept as Solution" if this response answers your question.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Inventor Professional 2013 SP1.1 Update 1
Windows XP Pro 32-bit, SP3
HP EliteBook 8730w; 4 GB RAM; Core™ 2 Duo T9400 2.53 GHz; Quadro FX2700M
SpaceExplorer/SpaceNavigator NB, driver 3.7.18
still waiting for a foreshortened radius dimensioning tool in Drawing Manager

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube