Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Dimensions flipping direction - IV2013

13 REPLIES 13
SOLVED
Message 1 of 14
Scott_Stubbington
7497 Views, 13 Replies

Dimensions flipping direction - IV2013

Hello,

I have a skeletal master part and in one of the sketches one of the dimensions flips direction, if this dimension was defined with a positive direction of 12 o'clock(20120725-DimensionChangeDirection0.jpg), over time and changes, the
positive direction will flip to now being 6 o'clock(20120725-DimensionChangeDirection1.jpg) and it doesn't break the model, but I now have less holes than required.

Anyone else seen this? If so, any recommendations?

I will not upload models.

Thanks

Scott

13 REPLIES 13
Message 2 of 14

Many times ... one of the problems with both linear and angular dimensions within a sketch is that they don't actually have an associated vector direction or rotational reference.

Depending on the complexity of the sketch/part; one solution is to use workplanes (which do have direction vectors) and project them into the sketch to define your geometry.

HTH

Message 3 of 14

The only time I have seen this happen is if at some point the value of the dimension was set to 0, then changed to a non-zero value.

As conklinjm says, the sketch dimensions don't have an absolute direction.  So when changing a zero value to a non-zero value, the direction that it decides to go is unpredictable.

If you know that your parameters can have values such that your dimension can be 0, then it is best to define that dimension in another way to avoid this problem.

Message 4 of 14

Your solution of Workplanes is superb conklin, thank you. 🙂