Valued Contributor
Scott_Stubbington
Message 1 of 6 (799 Views)
Accepted Solution

Dimensions flipping direction - IV2013

799 Views, 5 Replies
11-21-2012 04:43 AM

Hello,

I have a skeletal master part and in one of the sketches one of the dimensions flips direction, if this dimension was defined with a positive direction of 12 o'clock(20120725-DimensionChangeDirection0.jpg), over time and changes, the
positive direction will flip to now being 6 o'clock(20120725-DimensionChangeDirection1.jpg) and it doesn't break the model, but I now have less holes than required.

Anyone else seen this? If so, any recommendations?

I will not upload models.

Thanks

Scott

Valued Contributor
conklinjm
Message 2 of 6 (769 Views)

Re: Dimensions flipping direction - IV2013

11-21-2012 07:29 AM in reply to: Scott_Stubbington

Many times ... one of the problems with both linear and angular dimensions within a sketch is that they don't actually have an associated vector direction or rotational reference.

Depending on the complexity of the sketch/part; one solution is to use workplanes (which do have direction vectors) and project them into the sketch to define your geometry.

HTH

*Expert Elite*
cwhetten
Message 3 of 6 (755 Views)

11-21-2012 08:13 AM in reply to: Scott_Stubbington

The only time I have seen this happen is if at some point the value of the dimension was set to 0, then changed to a non-zero value.

As conklinjm says, the sketch dimensions don't have an absolute direction.  So when changing a zero value to a non-zero value, the direction that it decides to go is unpredictable.

If you know that your parameters can have values such that your dimension can be 0, then it is best to define that dimension in another way to avoid this problem.

Valued Contributor
Scott_Stubbington
Message 4 of 6 (752 Views)

11-21-2012 08:26 AM in reply to: cwhetten

Your solution of Workplanes is superb conklin, thank you. :-)