Inventor General

Reply
Contributor
rgraham817
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎10-13-2010
Message 1 of 4 (139 Views)

Dimension question

139 Views, 3 Replies
11-08-2012 11:50 AM

Hello Inventor users

I have a dimensioning problem. I have dimensions tha I cannot modify as I normally do. I do not

know what setting is stopping me but here is what it is doing. I add a dimension to a part. I then

edit it to add 2X in front if it. It will then put it on top of the dimension. If I put it behind the text, it

then goes beneath the dimension. There is no way to add text and it would actually appear on

the same line as the dimension. Pretty weird. I have never seen this before. I have searched

all the settings that I can think of to no avail.  Thanks for your help.

Randy

Inventor 2013    Windows 7

*Expert Elite*
cbenner
Posts: 3,132
Registered: ‎04-06-2010
Message 2 of 4 (132 Views)

Re: Dimension question

11-08-2012 11:56 AM in reply to: rgraham817

Can you post a screenshot?  I'm guessing the dimension is very small and there is not enough space to put the text in line. 

ChrisB

ADSK_Expert_Elite_Icon_S_Color_Blk.png

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Thank you! :smileyhappy:

http://cbennertipstricks.blogspot.com/


   

*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,179
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 3 of 4 (120 Views)

Re: Dimension question

11-08-2012 12:13 PM in reply to: rgraham817

Randy,

Welcome to the forum.

I add "2X" type text all the time to my dimensions, but I am doing it in my drawing editing the dimension.

Plus my dimensions are usually imported from my model.

Are you doing this in the part sketch mode, or in the drawing?

I agree that some images would be useful.

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2013
(Colossians 3:23-25)

Contributor
rgraham817
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎10-13-2010
Message 4 of 4 (119 Views)

Re: Dimension question

11-08-2012 12:16 PM in reply to: cbenner

Thanks

I just found it. It was in Styles, Dimensions, Text

On the bottom line where there is Prefix, Suffix, Deg dropdown, there is two blue boxes that determine

if the text is on the sides or on the top and bottom.

 

Thanks anyway

 

Randy

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube