Inventor General

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
BCrosby
Posts: 157
Registered: ‎10-24-2006
Message 1 of 5 (1,374 Views)

Dimension Style Default

1374 Views, 4 Replies
06-29-2011 02:08 PM

I have created a variety of dimension styles in IV12. Is there a way to change one of the styles that I created to the default style?

*Pro
Dennis_Jeffrey
Posts: 1,369
Registered: ‎12-15-2003
Message 2 of 5 (1,365 Views)

Re: Dimension Style Default

06-29-2011 07:37 PM in reply to: BCrosby

Make it the active style in your template.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
____________________________________________________________
Dennis Jeffrey, Author and Manufacturing Trainer, Autodesk Inventor Certified Expert
Autodesk Manufacturing Implementation Certified Expert
Autodesk Silver Manufacturing Partner

Subscribe to the free digital "The Creative Inventor Magazine" now available at: http://teknigroup....

XP64 SP2, GeForce 9800GT-1GB, Driver: 6.14.12.7061, 8GB Ram, AMD Athlon II 3.2 Ghz
Laptop: Win7-64 Pro, 4GB, ATI Graphics on board, 2012 Ultimate, IV2011 or 2010 Pro, all SP's
*Pro
sbixler
Posts: 1,870
Registered: ‎09-15-2003
Message 3 of 5 (1,353 Views)

Re: Dimension Style Default

06-30-2011 04:50 AM in reply to: BCrosby

The active Object Defaults style determines the default dimension styles for each different type of dimesion (linear, radius, diameter, ordinate, etc.)

Distinguished Contributor
BCrosby
Posts: 157
Registered: ‎10-24-2006
Message 4 of 5 (1,328 Views)

Re: Dimension Style Default

07-01-2011 11:27 AM in reply to: sbixler

Sam,

 

I changed things in the styles manager so that when I use a particular type of dimension (Baselin, Ordinate, Chain, etc.) I now get the dimension style that I desire. What I can't seem to find is what controls the dimension style that is activated when you just use the general dimension button. I still get the "by standard" inventor default. I would like to have this button activate one of my dimension styles.

 

Bruce

 

*Expert Elite*
jtylerbc
Posts: 864
Registered: ‎09-01-2010
Message 5 of 5 (1,321 Views)

Re: Dimension Style Default

07-01-2011 12:07 PM in reply to: BCrosby

Sounds like you were on the right track in the Style & Standard editor, you just didn't change enough.

 

Check your Object Default settings for the following:

Angle Dimensions

Linear Dimensions

Diameter Dimensions

Radial Dimensions

 

 

These are the ones that are created by the General Dimension command, so changing them to your desired default style should get you what you want.

John Tyler
Inventor 2013
Windows 7 64 Bit

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube