Inventor General

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎10-16-2013
Message 1 of 8 (154 Views)

Difficulties changing curves colour of Model.

154 Views, 7 Replies
11-27-2013 05:27 AM

Hi all,

so Im on Inventor 2013.

I have a seat model I have imported from a customer. It comes across in a lovely gold colour. Nice but not what I want in my assy.

So the part was imported from a .stp file. Opens in Inventor in the ipt as a Composite 1 in the model structure. No individual ipt's.

 

So no matter what I change the colour to, the curves always stay gold colour. I would like them to be grey as per surfs.

 

So to change the colour. Firstly, with the Composite selected (lowest level in the structure) I have -

 

-cleared appearance overrides.

-using the Adjust pallet, input the RGB value for grey 128,128,128 and click OK

 

Now with the visual style set to Shaded with edges, I get the grey I want, but curves are gold colour still.

 

If I view further up the model structure to srf1 under Surface Bodies(1) and change these to 128,128,128, I still don't get changed curves.

 

Can anyone help please

 

As always, much appreciated in advance

 

Best

 

Dean

 

 

Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎10-16-2013
Message 2 of 8 (118 Views)

Re: Difficulties changing curves colour of Model.

11-27-2013 11:32 PM in reply to: dixie237

Morning all,

no colour change experts available? :smileyhappy:

Cheers

Dean

*Expert Elite*
-niels-
Posts: 1,300
Registered: ‎06-20-2006
Message 3 of 8 (113 Views)

Re: Difficulties changing curves colour of Model.

11-28-2013 12:19 AM in reply to: dixie237
So you have a single composite?
Have you tried copying it to the construction environment and removing the colors there?
Or maybe in the repair environment?
Did you try making a solid out of the model?

Are you allowed to share the model?
I think i know how to do it, but can't remember the steps.
It shouldn't be too hard...

Using IV2014 Pro SP1 update 1, Win7-64bit
Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎10-16-2013
Message 4 of 8 (105 Views)

Re: Difficulties changing curves colour of Model.

11-28-2013 01:43 AM in reply to: -niels-

Hi Niels,

thanks for your reply. Firstly I am only 6 weeks into Inventor, coming from many years of Catia and some Alias.

Self taught through online vids and help from this forum. Always appr

 

Yes it comes in as a composite under "Surface bodies" - "Srf1" - "Composite1"

 

From your reply Niels I have a bit more of an understanding of "what I have" i.e. surfs imported. I searched how to copy into construction environment, but really came up with nothing. Although I did find a post that had the same probs. "How to remove the yellow tan lines.

Could you explain how to copy into construction env please. I guess this is where I could convert to a solid?

 

I saw the answer of just visualising as "shaded" in visual style. I do need to visualise the whole model in "Shaded with edges" though.

 

Unfortunately the model is subject to a NDA so no sharing!

 

Many thanks

 

Dean

*Expert Elite*
-niels-
Posts: 1,300
Registered: ‎06-20-2006
Message 5 of 8 (88 Views)

Re: Difficulties changing curves colour of Model.

11-28-2013 04:13 AM in reply to: dixie237
You say it was imported from a .stp, did you set the import options to make a composite or as (multi-body) solid?
Also, did you check the options for healing/importing in the repair environment?

For importing in to the construction environment, right-click on your composite.
There should be an option in the menu.
Once you've selected that, there should appear a folder with the name "construction".
Double click on that folder to enter the actual construction environment.

I'll post screenshots if you want, just need to find a bit of time, they're keeping me busy atm...
(will also try to find a .stp to import so i can see if i can recreate the problem.)

Using IV2014 Pro SP1 update 1, Win7-64bit
*Expert Elite*
-niels-
Posts: 1,300
Registered: ‎06-20-2006
Message 6 of 8 (81 Views)

Re: Difficulties changing curves colour of Model.

11-28-2013 05:25 AM in reply to: -niels-

I made this video, showing several things like the import settings and where the "copy to construction" can be found.

Unable to display content. Adobe Flash is required.

 

But after uploading i realized, i have my application options set to make edges black.

I think this might be what you're experiencing, because when i set it to use the document settings i got edges that were the original yellow of the surfaces.

 

Edge_color.png

 

If this is what you are seeing, then i must say that i don't immediately know of a way to change the color of the actual surface edges.

(other than setting the model edges to "one color")

I think it would be best to try and make a proper solid out of your model, if at all possible.

That way you don't have to worry about surface edges.


Using IV2014 Pro SP1 update 1, Win7-64bit
Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎10-16-2013
Message 7 of 8 (71 Views)

Re: Difficulties changing curves colour of Model.

11-28-2013 06:59 AM in reply to: -niels-

Niels,

you are a star mate. Thanks for your time and the movie.

I did not import the stp the way you showed, just did an open. When I right click on the Composite I do not get the copy to construction option! Must again be due to the way I opened the file. I will use your route in future.

However In tools-document-settings-display apperance, setting model edges to one colour (and choosing the 128,128,128 grey as acustom colour) did the trick.

Cheers my friend and all the best

Dean

*Expert Elite*
-niels-
Posts: 1,300
Registered: ‎06-20-2006
Message 8 of 8 (68 Views)

Re: Difficulties changing curves colour of Model.

11-28-2013 07:22 AM in reply to: dixie237
You're welcome.

Just to add, because in the video i used settings to get a composite:
For importing, set the option to "multiple solid part" and make sure "auto stitch" is checked.

One more thing you could give a shot is giving the "sculpt" command a go.
If your composite is correct and makes a closed space, it could turn your surface model into a solid.

Using IV2014 Pro SP1 update 1, Win7-64bit

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube