Inventor General

Reply
Distinguished Mentor
ampster
Posts: 982
Registered: ‎07-26-2005
Message 11 of 16 (615 Views)

Re: Cutout appearance doesn't work

09-20-2012 01:31 PM in reply to: nick.jeuris

nothings wrong with the png file, it's me who misunderstood your question.

 

I assumed you were doing a view in an idw and while it's been yrs since I had to detail something where I used a perforated sheet metal image, I recall back then there were some things that didn't work right or something or another.

 

Time for me to sit back and take it all in since I'm 2 versions behind.

 

Sorry for the confusion!

 

 

 

 

Active Member
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎09-20-2012
Message 12 of 16 (599 Views)

Re: Cutout appearance doesn't work

09-20-2012 11:13 PM in reply to: mrattray

Hi Mike

 

I can use the image file as an image but I can't use it as a cutout image.

And I need the holes to be transparant so this isn't a solution for me.

 

 

Nick

Active Member
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎09-20-2012
Message 13 of 16 (598 Views)

Re: Cutout appearance doesn't work

09-20-2012 11:32 PM in reply to: nick.jeuris

I have found a solution. Instead of using the png-file to cut out the black circles, I made those circles transparant and used the image as image. Inventor makes transparant what is transparant in the image

 

Nick

Mentor
Posts: 521
Registered: ‎07-14-2004
Message 14 of 16 (536 Views)

Re: Cutout appearance doesn't work

10-30-2012 02:50 PM in reply to: nick.jeuris

Hi,

 

This is actually a very important point that appears to be undocumented. 

 

Reading through the wiki help, it will say that shaded modes will not make use of the custom "cutout" image.  If you strictly use realistic visual style you will be OK in creating your custom image file and its corresponding cutouts image in photoshop. 

 

The problem comes when you would like to create a custom material (with some transparency) that you need to be displayed correctly in the shaded views on a drawing or in your assembly environment.  You will then need to create a png file with transparency in photoshop and use that as Nick has stated.

 

To summarize, if you use all the visual styles and you create any custom materials/appearances (like expanded metal), you must create a png file with transparency as well as a cutout image and place both into the appearance editor.

 

Rob

*Expert Elite*
Mark_Wigan
Posts: 436
Registered: ‎03-07-2006
Message 15 of 16 (408 Views)

Re: Cutout appearance doesn't work

03-06-2013 06:38 AM in reply to: ampster

thanks Rob & Nick you have found the missing piece of the puzzle!

 

i was just working on one of my own appearances tonight and it was behaving a bit randomly until i used your concept.

 

i have attached a snapshot of my appearance which works fine in shaded mode & in realistic mode. as you say there is no mention of this in the documentation. i just read through the help and it would appear to be lacking in a few areas.

http://wikihelp.autodesk.com/Inventor/enu/2013/Help/1310-Autodesk1310/1364-Fundamen1364/1443-Materia...

 

ps- the only thing i have not figured out is why my old mesh bitmap file still is able to display transparent sections when i use it for the image. it is still able to show up in inventors shaded visualisation just like it always has in pre 2013 versions.

i recall maybe that in earlier versions, inventor used a method that was based upon whatever the pixel colour in the lower right corner of the image was. if it sees that same colour pixel elsewhere it makes every occurence of it transparent when is maps it into inventor.

 

for testing, even when i copy my old mesh image it to make a new pattern, i cannot get the copied file to work at all.

 

thankfully my cheap little snagit software is able to give me transparent backgrounds where i need it to.

 

thanks again.

best regards,
- Mark

PDSU 2014 Windows 7, 64bit. (please consider Kudos or Tag as Solved if your issue is sorted)

*Expert Elite*
Mark_Wigan
Posts: 436
Registered: ‎03-07-2006
Message 16 of 16 (390 Views)

Re: Cutout appearance doesn't work

03-06-2013 07:30 AM in reply to: Mark_Wigan

re following on from my ps above, for getting the the old pre 2013 transparent image sections to work, i remember that if you want the transparent pixel method to work then the file needs to have a symbol as part of the file name, namely the & symbol as the very last character berore the .png or .bmp

 

eg

 

MeshScreen&.png

best regards,
- Mark

PDSU 2014 Windows 7, 64bit. (please consider Kudos or Tag as Solved if your issue is sorted)

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube