Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cut a sheet metal component with a plane

7 REPLIES 7
Message 1 of 8
derekreilly
1170 Views, 7 Replies

Cut a sheet metal component with a plane

Good afternoon,

I am new to Inventor and am trying to cut a sheet metal part with a plane, please see attached file. I have tried using the split command however it is not providing the result I need. Help would be greatly appreciated!

7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
JDMather
in reply to: derekreilly

@derekreilly wrote:

...I have tried using the split command however it is not providing the result I need....

You have used the Split _Face Option rather than Split_Part Option, but in any case, this will not really give the correct results.

While I work up a solution - there are 2 Service Packs avialable for r2014 that you should install.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2019 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional

Message 3 of 8
mcgyvr

in the "real world".... is the cut done before or after forming the final shape?

You want to use sketch..project the flat pattern..then cut (with across bend option)  if done before or extude

or cut if cut after forming..

I don't have the same version as you or I would provide an example. But you can start a sketch on the longest face of that part (in the xy plane) then project the flat pattern to bring up all the formed sides into the sketch then just create a triangle sketch then finish sketch and cut.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Inventor 2023 - Dell Precision 5570

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept Solution button below.