Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Custom .dwg template

4 REPLIES 4
SOLVED
Message 1 of 5
DaveyL
533 Views, 4 Replies

Custom .dwg template

Bonjourno,

Brief explanation, I work for a company who has recently purchased Autodesk Inventor 2012, amongst other Autodesk products and I have had some basic training from a local company. My background is Ideas11 at uni but I believe I have got a good grasp of the basics of Inventor. Although I do only have maybe 2 weeks solid hands on experience.

Anyway, the company who gave the training set up a .dwg with our company name, details etc and when it is opened (it is in templates folder) it asks for a few 'Prompted Texts' like description, scale, paper size. After entering these details a warning about a Style conflict comes up. This says Style definitions in template differ from style library, library definitions will be used. It does not seem to affect the document but if anyone can suggest a fix that would be appreciated, it is out of my depth.

However, this is not the main issue. Each of the parts that are placed into a .dwg file has a part number and this has been set in the part properties. There is also a field in the template for part number however it is blank. Is there a way to automatically put in the part number in that field taken from the .iam/.ipt file?

I've searched the forums for a similar post but if there is one (which there probs is) I can not find it. Any help would be greatly appreciated,

Dave

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
jtylerbc
in reply to: DaveyL

For your first question: