Inventor General

Reply
New Member
edwaugh
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-27-2011
Message 1 of 4 (285 Views)
Accepted Solution

Creating a wire loop between two connector pins

285 Views, 3 Replies
09-27-2011 02:59 PM

Hi all,

 

I'd like to use the Cable and Wiring tools to model some fibre optics. I can see how this could work well, being able to set and check for the minimum bend radius. However, I'd also like to include a loop of greater than minimum bend radius between the two connection points, we tend to do this to reduce strain on the fibres. Does anyone have an elegant solution for inserting the loop?

 

Thanks very much

 

Ed

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,186
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 2 of 4 (283 Views)

Re: Creating a wire loop between two connector pins

09-27-2011 03:13 PM in reply to: edwaugh

Can't you just drag the spline (node)?
Can you attach sample files?

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
New Member
edwaugh
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-27-2011
Message 3 of 4 (259 Views)

Re: Creating a wire loop between two connector pins

09-28-2011 01:55 AM in reply to: JDMather

Hey,

 

I gave this a go and it does work, would be nice if the splines would automatically limit to the minimum bend radius rather than me manually adjusting them tho.

 

Thanks very much

 

Ed

 

 

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,186
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 4 of 4 (248 Views)

Re: Creating a wire loop between two connector pins

09-28-2011 04:35 AM in reply to: edwaugh

I think what you want can be done with the piping (tube) rather than wire/cable.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube