Inventor General

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
BCrosby
Posts: 157
Registered: ‎10-24-2006
Message 1 of 5 (250 Views)

Copy Content Center

250 Views, 4 Replies
04-24-2012 08:01 AM

I would like to copy my content center to the server so that several users can use a common content center. I do not use vault. I believe I have copied what I need to copy. When I go into my project under "Folder Options" and try to change where the "Content Center Files" are located I can't get it to change. It just says [Default]. Why?

*Pro
sbixler
Posts: 1,869
Registered: ‎09-15-2003
Message 2 of 5 (245 Views)

Re: Copy Content Center

04-24-2012 09:35 AM in reply to: BCrosby

This project setting is where the parts created from the Content Library are stored.  Default merely means "use the settings from Application Options."  What you are looking for is the location of the Library itself, and that is specified in the Content Center tab of Application Options.

 

So, there are two different locations that Inventor needs to know concerning the Content Library: the location of the library (Content Center tab), and where to put the actual parts when they're created by placing from the libary (File tab > Default Content Center files).  As you have noticed, a project can either use the default location, or specify one of its own.  A project cannot, however, specify the location of the Content Libraries.

Distinguished Contributor
BCrosby
Posts: 157
Registered: ‎10-24-2006
Message 3 of 5 (203 Views)

Re: Copy Content Center

09-14-2012 11:34 AM in reply to: sbixler

Sam,

 

A while ago you helped me with this issue. Recently a lot of files on our server were relocated. Now any files that contained items from the content center can not locate those items when needed. I'm sure my problem is that I don't understand how to map to the content center on my server. Can you try to explain this to me?

 

Bruce

 

*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,179
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 4 of 5 (199 Views)

Re: Copy Content Center

09-14-2012 11:44 AM in reply to: BCrosby

We have talked about copying our content center at my company as well.  We do use vault and what we are

looking to do is after copying, change the default descriptions and parts numbers so when BOM's are populated they

come in with our company's info.  PLus just utilizing just the parts that we use on a regular basis.

I have dived into this a little and know some of what I need to do within the CC editor, but I would welcome further suggestions based on experience.

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2013
(Colossians 3:23-25)

*Pro
sbixler
Posts: 1,869
Registered: ‎09-15-2003
Message 5 of 5 (195 Views)

Re: Copy Content Center

09-14-2012 11:51 AM in reply to: BCrosby

Per my explanation above, the location of those CC files is specified by Application Options > File > Default Content Center Files, and may be overridden by the .ipj file > Folder Options > Content Center Files.  So, it's possible that you'll have to go to each project file and change the location.  If you're lucky, all you'll need to do is change the App Options default, but that will have to be done for each user on each computer.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube