Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Contour Roll hole creation

5 REPLIES 5
SOLVED
Message 1 of 6
josh
606 Views, 5 Replies

Contour Roll hole creation

Hello,

I am new to inventor and have found many posts on this forum helpful. Thank you to everyone who answers the questions of the less informed. I am in need help on a model of a sheet metal roll formed profile. At our facility we roll the profile, punch the holes then arch the profile. I need to be able to quickly and accurately produce part prints of these parts of these arches in a unfolded state. I have been able to accomplish this, however I cannot constrain the holes on a axis after refolding the part. I am looking for a way to sketch on this part in the unfolded state to create the hole position and have a constrainable hole in the folded state. Any advice is appreciated.

Inventor 2014 

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
JDMather
in reply to: josh

First thing I noticed is that your Sketch1 is not fully constrained.

Then I noticed that you are creating 2 arcs where only one is needed and forcing zero length lines in the process. 

This will eventually cause you significant problems - so I recommend that you never ever create geometry in such a way that lines end up zero length.

zero line.PNG

I have to do some experimenting, but I don't quite understand why you are using unfold to place a hole on an arc.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2019 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional

The CADWhisperer YouTube Channel

EESignature

Message 3 of 6
josh
in reply to: JDMather