Inventor General

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 127
Registered: ‎12-09-2009
Message 1 of 7 (208 Views)
Accepted Solution

Content Center resolving after upgrade

208 Views, 6 Replies
04-24-2013 09:04 AM

I seem to work through this problem every year. It's enough to make me dred the upgrade but not enough to remember what I did to resolve it. What is the fastest way to get Inventor to find it's own parts after an upgrade? Why can't it do it?

*Expert Elite*
mrattray
Posts: 2,227
Registered: ‎09-13-2011
Message 2 of 7 (191 Views)

Re: Content Center resolving after upgrade

04-24-2013 10:52 AM in reply to: BillPIII
Are your settings under Application Options>File correct?
Is your project file configured correctly and loaded?
Mike (not Matt) Rattray

Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 127
Registered: ‎12-09-2009
Message 3 of 7 (179 Views)

Re: Content Center resolving after upgrade

04-24-2013 01:28 PM in reply to: mrattray

It had been. I then upgraded and it seems lost. But this happens every upgrade. It doesn't seem to automatically update anything to the 2014 content center and doesn't seem to know or care where the 2013 content center is. And I don't really want to leave it attached to the old files. Just annoying things I need to remember every year and only use them once a year. Like the annoying fan out selection box is back. It would be nice if the upgrade could look at your previous settings.

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 3,634
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 4 of 7 (172 Views)

Re: Content Center resolving after upgrade

04-24-2013 01:56 PM in reply to: BillPIII

This is always a problem, but you do have to migrate your old IDCL files anyways. It location path only changes by the year of Inventor.

 

ProgramData>Autodesk>Inventor (year)>Content Center>Libraries:

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 127
Registered: ‎12-09-2009
Message 5 of 7 (156 Views)

Re: Content Center resolving after upgrade

04-25-2013 05:07 AM in reply to: BillPIII

Is there a better way to migrate than using "replace with content center"? Seems dumb to need to search for old parts in the new version using the same name it used in the old version in order to replace it with the same name in the new version. The content center always seemed to work backwards to me and the yearly game of 'pick up sticks' doesn't help.

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 3,634
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 6 of 7 (144 Views)

Re: Content Center resolving after upgrade

04-25-2013 08:58 AM in reply to: BillPIII
We always use the save as custom, which always brings them into my current work directory. Never have a problem with this. They get migrated with my files.
Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 127
Registered: ‎12-09-2009
Message 7 of 7 (136 Views)

Re: Content Center resolving after upgrade

04-25-2013 10:14 AM in reply to: blair

I just noticed that box today while replacing bolts and wondered if it did that. I think I'll use that from now on. Probably solves some other issues as well. Thanks.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube