Inventor General

Reply
Valued Contributor
Cool_Breeze_Jr
Posts: 71
Registered: ‎02-10-2012
Message 1 of 13 (213 Views)

Content Center measurements

213 Views, 12 Replies
11-09-2012 08:41 AM

Hi there...again. I have been informed by my lead Engineer that I need to find a 1-1/2" x 1-1/2" tube that is 16 gauge. The material is steel. I cannot find this in the content center. Any suggestions?

Chris Biggs
Engineer/CADD Services
New Horizons RV Corp.
2401 Lacey Drive
Junction City, KS 66441

Dell XPS 8300
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2600 CPU@3.40GHz
16GB RAM
Win 8.1 Pro
Autodesk Product Design Suite 2014
*Expert Elite*
cbenner
Posts: 3,132
Registered: ‎04-06-2010
Message 2 of 13 (201 Views)

Re: Content Center measurements

11-09-2012 09:46 AM in reply to: Cool_Breeze_Jr

You can create and publish custom parts to the Content Center.  You could start with either a new model, or perhaps in this case, copy an existing steel tube library that is close and modify the family table values to be 16 ga.  If you've never done that, I can help you there.

ChrisB

ADSK_Expert_Elite_Icon_S_Color_Blk.png

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Thank you! :smileyhappy:

http://cbennertipstricks.blogspot.com/


   

Valued Contributor
Cool_Breeze_Jr
Posts: 71
Registered: ‎02-10-2012
Message 3 of 13 (188 Views)

Re: Content Center measurements

11-09-2012 11:12 AM in reply to: cbenner

That would be great, when I get som free time to get it started. I was shown how to create a library in class but it has been a while. We will need to create one here sooner or later. Any info you can give will help out greatly! Thanks

Chris Biggs
Engineer/CADD Services
New Horizons RV Corp.
2401 Lacey Drive
Junction City, KS 66441

Dell XPS 8300
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2600 CPU@3.40GHz
16GB RAM
Win 8.1 Pro
Autodesk Product Design Suite 2014
*Expert Elite*
cbenner
Posts: 3,132
Registered: ‎04-06-2010
Message 4 of 13 (186 Views)

Re: Content Center measurements

11-09-2012 11:28 AM in reply to: Cool_Breeze_Jr

Well, first thing is... are you using Vault?

ChrisB

ADSK_Expert_Elite_Icon_S_Color_Blk.png

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Thank you! :smileyhappy:

http://cbennertipstricks.blogspot.com/


   

Valued Contributor
Cool_Breeze_Jr
Posts: 71
Registered: ‎02-10-2012
Message 5 of 13 (177 Views)

Re: Content Center measurements

11-09-2012 01:49 PM in reply to: cbenner

No,too costly a there are only two ofus in the same office. Hagerman sai it woul cost around $6,000 to get vaul up and running.

Chris Biggs
Engineer/CADD Services
New Horizons RV Corp.
2401 Lacey Drive
Junction City, KS 66441

Dell XPS 8300
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2600 CPU@3.40GHz
16GB RAM
Win 8.1 Pro
Autodesk Product Design Suite 2014
*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,158
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 6 of 13 (178 Views)

Re: Content Center measurements

11-09-2012 01:54 PM in reply to: Cool_Breeze_Jr

you do know vault comes with inventor inside the box?

$6000 is way to much for a 2 person operation they must have added a lot to be onsite at your office

Valued Contributor
Cool_Breeze_Jr
Posts: 71
Registered: ‎02-10-2012
Message 7 of 13 (164 Views)

Re: Content Center measurements

11-09-2012 03:18 PM in reply to: DarrenP

Yes, Vault Basic 2013. I don't know enough to set it up. I loaded it on my pc and all my programs search for the "Vault Server" which I have no idea what that is. It's kind of a screwed up situation, My engineer is on a network license running Design Suite and I have a stand alone license with just Inventor. I believe we have to be on the same license to use tha vault right?

Chris Biggs
Engineer/CADD Services
New Horizons RV Corp.
2401 Lacey Drive
Junction City, KS 66441

Dell XPS 8300
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2600 CPU@3.40GHz
16GB RAM
Win 8.1 Pro
Autodesk Product Design Suite 2014
*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,158
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 8 of 13 (166 Views)

Re: Content Center measurements

11-09-2012 03:22 PM in reply to: Cool_Breeze_Jr

no

vault basic doesn't require its own license (the paid ones do) it uses the cad license in this case the inventor license

but thats a whole different thread on how it works

 

*Expert Elite*
cbenner
Posts: 3,132
Registered: ‎04-06-2010
Message 9 of 13 (123 Views)

Re: Content Center measurements

11-12-2012 05:19 AM in reply to: Cool_Breeze_Jr

Wether you are planning to set up Vault, or just go with local CC libraries, this would be a good place to start for some background info on getting started.  But I think I'd make that call (vault or not) before diving too deep into setting up libraries.

 

We are only 2 designers here, but also have several engineers.  We've been using Vault in one form or another since before Autodesk owned it.  (it was called truevault in those days).   The nice thing about it for a small company is that it makes it easy to share changes to common files, and also protects against 2 people trying to work on the same thing at the same time, and getting conflicting changes.

ChrisB

ADSK_Expert_Elite_Icon_S_Color_Blk.png

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Thank you! :smileyhappy:

http://cbennertipstricks.blogspot.com/


   

Valued Contributor
Cool_Breeze_Jr
Posts: 71
Registered: ‎02-10-2012
Message 10 of 13 (117 Views)

Re: Content Center measurements

11-12-2012 05:58 AM in reply to: cbenner

I agree with ya. I am a little in the dark with the whole setup on vault. I tried it a few times and every time I get this message that there is no server installed. This also goes with all microsoft products too. Gets very disturbing. So now I do not have vault installed (I took it off) but if what you are saying is true about ease of use between the two of us here in the office then I am all in and want to proceed with Vault. Now here is my current setup, I have a desktop here at work and my lead engineer has a laptop both with inventor 2013 loaded. We bought a WD mybook live 1TB to store our data and make it accessible out of office (He can access it from his laptop out of office and I can access it from my home PC) When we bought it, I moved all data (All Inventor files, .dwg's, pdf's, all MS documents) onto this cloud based drive. When I did that I opened up a .ipj and found that some .xls files could not be read. We think this happened becuase the original .ipj was created on my desktop at work and dropped likns somewhere. Adding to that, for some reason I lost views to my 'View Reps" meaning the actual names of the reps were there but when I clicked on them, there was no model shown in that view. Master works great but I have about 40 view reps created. I have to go back to master and highlight what I need visible in that rep, delete the view and re-create each rep which is very disgruntling and time consuming. But I digress....

 

So the rundown is as follows, we want to store our data on a cloud-based device and run vault on both machines that read from that cloud-based device. I am not even sure ifthis is possible without getting a IT pro and an Autodesk rep in here at the same time. I am pretty good with hardware and trying to solve some software issues. I know we might need to keep this thread alive for others to see this and be able to solve similar issues but I would rather use Skype and possibly Team Viewer to get help with this issue hoping I can trust the user with our data in their hands. Whats your thoughts?

Chris Biggs
Engineer/CADD Services
New Horizons RV Corp.
2401 Lacey Drive
Junction City, KS 66441

Dell XPS 8300
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2600 CPU@3.40GHz
16GB RAM
Win 8.1 Pro
Autodesk Product Design Suite 2014

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube