Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Combine Handle and Cup

9 REPLIES 9
SOLVED
Message 1 of 10
olabaz
2389 Views, 9 Replies

Combine Handle and Cup

I am new to inventor and I managed to make a Cup and a Handle and now I'm trying to align the two so they are touching.  I have attached my project file.

9 REPLIES 9
Message 2 of 10
wimann
in reply to: olabaz

You've chosen a very interesting route for the task - as most new people do.

There are probably a million different ways to accomplish what you wish to do. If I am simply gonig from your part file and moving forward (in other words, if I'm not rebuilding it from scratch in what may be a more efficient manner), I would probably use the "Move Face" command on the edges shown in the image attached. I would use the push/pull grips to drag the faces into the side of the cup such that they are touching but not so far that they are protruding into the inside of the cup.

However, ultimately, I would have drawn it differently from the very beginning. But you'll learn more as you progress. Keep at it.

If you'd like, I can attach a part file of what I would consider a more effective approach. Which Inventor are you using? I'm in 2014 so if you're using anything earlier than that, I cannot send you a part file.

Thanks,

-Will Mann

Inventor Professional 2020
Vault Professional 2020
AutoCAD Mechanical 2020
Message 3 of 10
olabaz
in reply to: wimann

Thank you for the quick reply. I am also using 2014. What would be the more simple approach?
Message 4 of 10
wimann

Well I've been doing this for a little while now. So some of my approach is derived from my experience.

What I've done is this (feel free to open my part file and follow along):