Inventor General

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
jyager
Posts: 110
Registered: ‎05-30-2013
Message 1 of 6 (4,714 Views)

CoG needed for each sub assembly in a 2 part assembly on an IDW

4714 Views, 5 Replies
10-03-2013 01:27 PM

I found some similar topics, but nothing seemed answered...some links to a CoG plus add in went nowhere also.

 

I have a two part duct fire damper assembly. The IDW has the combined two part assembly, which I know how to turn the CoG on, so that it can be dimensioned. The problem is each piece will more than likely be hoisted separately so I would like to show the CoG for each piece, not the combined master assy.

 

is there a way to do this?

Jason Yager
Inventor 2014
Windows 7 Pro SP1
Intel(R) Xeon(R) X5675 @ 3.19GHz
64GB RAM
ATI Radeon hd 5800
3D Connexion SpaceMouse Pro
*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 3,934
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 6 (4,701 Views)

Re: CoG needed for each sub assembly in a 2 part assembly on an IDW

10-03-2013 02:53 PM in reply to: jyager

There was another post about 1 week ago on COG and assemblies. I think Curtis posted some iCode on for it. Once it's in a IAM IV only looks at the highest most item in the file.

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Inventor/weights-and-cog-of-a-group-of-parts-in-assembly/m-p/...

 

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 up1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Distinguished Mentor
pcrawley
Posts: 665
Registered: ‎05-23-2002
Message 3 of 6 (4,690 Views)

Re: CoG needed for each sub assembly in a 2 part assembly on an IDW

10-03-2013 04:27 PM in reply to: jyager

To create the dimensions for the CofG in the component parts, create separate drawing views of each part file and include their respective CofG's.

 

The other trick is to place a workpoint at the CofG on each part, then dimension them both in the drawing. 

Peter
Distinguished Contributor
jyager
Posts: 110
Registered: ‎05-30-2013
Message 4 of 6 (4,686 Views)

Re: CoG needed for each sub assembly in a 2 part assembly on an IDW

10-03-2013 04:50 PM in reply to: pcrawley

I read the thread mentioned, unless I'm missing something that seems to be talking about getting the CoG in an IAM file. I need the idw/dwg CoG.

 

I'll have to try the work point method...I dont have room on the sheet to include separate views.

Jason Yager
Inventor 2014
Windows 7 Pro SP1
Intel(R) Xeon(R) X5675 @ 3.19GHz
64GB RAM
ATI Radeon hd 5800
3D Connexion SpaceMouse Pro
Distinguished Mentor
pcrawley
Posts: 665
Registered: ‎05-23-2002
Message 5 of 6 (4,684 Views)

Re: CoG needed for each sub assembly in a 2 part assembly on an IDW

10-03-2013 05:10 PM in reply to: jyager

Unless anyone has a trick for creating the workpont on the CofG, it's a rediculously difficult thing to do.  (2015??)

Easy solution:  Use another piece of paper and create the extra views!

 

Hard solution: iLogic can recover the x, y, z locations of the CofG, so you can construct a workoint from three workplanes that are driven by these values.  I've attached a simple part file and the iLogic that drives it - just drill a hole or hack a bit off the part and you'll see the workpoint updates after running the rule.  Hopefully you can adapt it to your models.

Peter
*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 3,934
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 6 of 6 (4,674 Views)

Re: CoG needed for each sub assembly in a 2 part assembly on an IDW

10-03-2013 11:18 PM in reply to: jyager

I came across this post:

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Inventor/Center-of-gravity-of-each-of-parts-in-assembly/td-p/...

 

If they are parts you could use the COG utility from Cbliss.com and get the workpoint in the drawing but I think the post about just adding views for the IPT with the COG showing is going to be the easiest.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 up1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube