Inventor General

Reply
Valued Mentor
IgorMir
Posts: 481
Registered: ‎08-02-2003
Message 21 of 99 (1,863 Views)

Re: Classic menu in Inventor 2013

05-30-2012 06:27 PM in reply to: Vlad.Makarov

Yeah, especially if those new users are Microsoft Office veterans! LOL!

Best Regards,

Igor.

 


Vlad.Makarov wrote:

Speaking from experience, you can switch with the hack but you will discover many bugs. The ribbon has magical properties & immediately transforms new users into modeling veterans. (According to what I keep hearing.)


 

Web: www.meqc.com.au
Contributor
timo.puska
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎09-23-2004
Message 22 of 99 (1,845 Views)

Re: Classic menu in Inventor 2013

05-31-2012 12:49 AM in reply to: timo.puska

Hi,

 

thank's for all replies!!

 

Could someone who has 2013 look at registry and tell me if the hack is there?

I may have read post negligently byt I didn't find watertight answer.

If there isn't, we will continue with 2012. I think that many others do the same.

 

I like to have user interface where all commands are "on fingertips" like

they have been in Windows long time. I happily use Office 2003 and liked

to have same interface in other programs too. I'm not a player who wants

to click everything that can be clicked. Program development is a good thing,

but if something works good why must we change it just due to change.

Autodesk should pay attention to it that Inventor is a tool to make real work.

Some persons in our company have struggled with the ribbon guite a long time and

I haven't heard anyone to praise it.

 

I have noticed that Autodesk is strongly tethered with Microsoft. One example is

very slooowww Vault. Why can't some "real database" be used instead SQL Server?

 

-timo

 

 

*Pro
jletcher
Posts: 1,946
Registered: ‎05-18-2011
Message 23 of 99 (1,834 Views)

Re: Classic menu in Inventor 2013

05-31-2012 05:03 AM in reply to: Mark_Flayler

I could sit here and disagree with you all day but why? I know for a fact that IMAGINiT or Autodesk have no clue. I know this because if it was not for me you both would have lost about 43 seats of Inventor. Not IMAGINiT or Autodesk could get my clients running. They paid you to come in and fix them but IMAGINiT could not and Autodesk could not. I was the last hope and they was not happy spending all this money and the people that sold them the software and the people that developed the software had no clue on how to set up Inventor for the client.

 

So you stay with your un-productive ribbon and I will figure a way around it..

 

 

And don't get me wrong up untill now If ask what software to use Inventor would have been the one now I ask what are you using now they say Autocad. I tell them to stay with it and don't upgrade Autodesk has lost the way.

 

Autodesk was the leader in cad software now they chase others just like you said everyone else went to the ribbon thats why they did it.. But see Autodesk was the only one I would tell people is the most productive software out there and if you want to go to Inventor it is easy to learn. But not now.

 

Good luck at IMAGINiT my friend they are a good company but have no clue..........

 


Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.

James Letcher
2012 Factory Design Suite ( will not load 2013)
What happen to my Inventor :-(
*Pro
jletcher
Posts: 1,946
Registered: ‎05-18-2011
Message 24 of 99 (1,822 Views)

Re: Classic menu in Inventor 2013

05-31-2012 05:22 AM in reply to: jletcher

Oh one more thing Mark. This 2013 is the 1st release that they cannot go back to classic and seeing that the SP1 has not come out yet a lot of people have not upgraded yet. And all I see posted is where is my classic. Now when SP1 comes out and more and more load it this discussion will be the biggest or the most re-threaded post.

 

Just look they found a hack to get classic back in 2012 thats how much we all loved it. And I will find a way  keep my classic in 2013 if I ever upgrade again. Right now I will stay with my hacked 2012 Classic. 2013 can stay on the shelf..

 

 

 


Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.

James Letcher
2012 Factory Design Suite ( will not load 2013)
What happen to my Inventor :-(
Valued Mentor
RayFeiler
Posts: 401
Registered: ‎10-07-2008
Message 25 of 99 (1,813 Views)

Re: Classic menu in Inventor 2013

05-31-2012 05:32 AM in reply to: jletcher

Have you tried customizing the Ribbon and Marking Menu?

See

http://wikihelp.autodesk.com/Inventor/enu/2013/Help/1310-Autodesk1310/1364-Fundamen1364/1365-User_In...

For Ribbon customization

See

http://wikihelp.autodesk.com/Inventor/enu/2013/Help/1310-Autodesk1310/1364-Fundamen1364/1416-Modelin...

For Marking menu customization.

 

For 2012 see http://wikihelp.autodesk.com/Inventor/enu/2012/Help/0073-Autodesk73/0285-Work_Env285/0303-Customiz30...

 

 

 

Product Design Suite Ultimate 2014 64-Bit

Sometimes you just need a good old reboot.
*Expert Elite*
mcgyvr
Posts: 6,631
Registered: ‎12-01-2004
Message 26 of 99 (1,809 Views)

Re: Classic menu in Inventor 2013

05-31-2012 05:36 AM in reply to: jletcher

jletcher wrote:

Just look they found a hack to get classic back in 2012

 

 

 


Thank Autodesk for that.. They left the registry setting in there. Its not a "hack" where some classic UI lover rewrote the code or something..

 

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

Down with IDW/DWG files..... Long live 3D PMI... Hurry it up already..
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
2015 Product Design Suite Ultimate
Windows 7 64 bit
Core i7 4820k processor (OC'd to 4.4Ghz), Nvidia GTX 770, 16G RAM


*Expert Elite*
Mark_Flayler
Posts: 1,465
Registered: ‎07-30-2007
Message 27 of 99 (1,808 Views)

Re: Classic menu in Inventor 2013

05-31-2012 05:38 AM in reply to: timo.puska

I did just try the registry edit in 2013.  The registry key for InterfaceStyle was not there so I created the registry key and tested it.  In 2013, the Classic Menu is officially gone (at least with that registry edit).

 

To the notion that users didn't have a say in the interface...well they did, you just didn't notice it.  The Autodesk CIP data that is sent to Autodesk over Inventor 2010 and 2011 contain not only what commands were commonly used but also what interface style was in use.  Now you could argue that this is weighted based on the fact the Ribbon is the default and you have to enable the classic through application options it still stands that far less users used the Classic interface or perhaps were not yet on the 2010 and 2011.

 

One of the other large reasons why they did this as well was for similar program feel.  For instance, I picked up Navisworks to do some Factory collision work for a client and was able to negotiate the interface far better than the last time I tried it before the Ribbon was added to the software.  Once you are used to it, it does make the learning processes easier for different programs much like the way the traditional pull downs and menu systems worked before Office 2007.  In the end the majority of users are off of 2003 Office and newer, younger users haven't even seen Office 2003.  I do find users learn this way much faster now than with the tradtional pull downs, but for seasoned users or users not upgrading business software regularly (don't get me started on the lack of upgrades for engineers for hardware), it is a steeper learning curve.

Mark Flayler Application Engineer - Manufacturing Solutions Division
IMAGINiT's Manufacturing Solutions Blog:
http://blogs.rand.com/manufacturing/
Valued Mentor
IgorMir
Posts: 481
Registered: ‎08-02-2003
Message 28 of 99 (1,792 Views)

Re: Classic menu in Inventor 2013

05-31-2012 06:10 AM in reply to: Mark_Flayler

Hi Mark,

I don't think the comparison between Office and Inventor Ribbon interface is fair somewhat. Let's have a look at Microsoft Word, for example. How often do you have to use different tools from the Ribbon while writing a letter? Not often, really. The main source of input is a key board anyway.

With the Inventor it is a different story. We use a lot of different tools all the time. Plus - the real estate of the screen is at premium (unlike in the Word document where you set your zoom factor once and most likely won't change it for the duration of work). Hence any extra room taken off the screen by "ribbon enhancements" taxes operator's performance rather heavily. Not to mention all the travels you have to do to reach to the tools you need. I have been watching once a demonstration on making a part in Inventor. The traveling of the cursor over the screen to select the needed tools from the Ribbon was obscene!

My take on it - Ribbon is a step backward in Inventor. I have made this point at each and every research run by Autodesk. Will we see any difference? I don't know.

Best Regards,

Igor.

Web: www.meqc.com.au
Contributor
timo.puska
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎09-23-2004
Message 29 of 99 (1,782 Views)

Re: Classic menu in Inventor 2013

05-31-2012 06:59 AM in reply to: RayFeiler

Why should I customize something. The classic interface is very handy and usable without customization.

I teach Inventor to our employers and I like to have congruent interface for all. Could Autodesk listen

to program users and give chance to select between interfaces. We are trying to make productive job

with this program! We do not need glitter and bells and whistles but we need clear environment to work with.

 

Valued Mentor
RayFeiler
Posts: 401
Registered: ‎10-07-2008
Message 30 of 99 (1,780 Views)

Re: Classic menu in Inventor 2013

05-31-2012 07:06 AM in reply to: timo.puska

You don't have to, but you can if you want to. I'll agree that Autodesk should just leave it as an option. After all you can still have tool bars in AutoCAD.

Product Design Suite Ultimate 2014 64-Bit

Sometimes you just need a good old reboot.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube