Inventor General

Reply
*Gary Cross \( IV10 SP1\)
Message 1 of 8 (329 Views)

Changing Reference Part to Normal in BOM

329 Views, 7 Replies
10-01-2005 12:21 AM
I'm having trouble changing a reference part back to normal. It's in a sub
nested 2 levels. I earlier had it as a phantom but changed it easily to
reference. Now I need it to be normal.

I've tried going into each level to change it. I cannot access it unless I
change the BOM to read "Model Structure" since reference parts don't show up
under BOM structure. When I click on Reference (it has a little X in it) it
will seem like it's going to change but turns back to ref every time.

I went into the lowest sub & was able to change the part to Default through
Properties but it just goes to reference again in the main assembly.

What the procedure or rule of thumb on this?

Gary
*Andrew Faix \(Autodesk\)
Message 2 of 8 (329 Views)

Re: Changing Reference Part to Normal in BOM

10-03-2005 08:35 AM in reply to: *Gary Cross \( IV10 SP1\)
RMB on the part in your main assembly and make sure BOM Reference is not set
to reference. You can (for any component) override its document level BOM
Structure attribute to be reference.

--
Andrew Faix
Product Designer - Inventor Drawing Manager
Autodesk


"Gary Cross ( IV10 SP1)" wrote in message
news:4972797@discussion.autodesk.com...
I'm having trouble changing a reference part back to normal. It's in a sub
nested 2 levels. I earlier had it as a phantom but changed it easily to
reference. Now I need it to be normal.

I've tried going into each level to change it. I cannot access it unless I
change the BOM to read "Model Structure" since reference parts don't show up
under BOM structure. When I click on Reference (it has a little X in it) it
will seem like it's going to change but turns back to ref every time.

I went into the lowest sub & was able to change the part to Default through
Properties but it just goes to reference again in the main assembly.

What the procedure or rule of thumb on this?

Gary
Active Contributor
dwing
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎03-02-2012
Message 3 of 8 (291 Views)

Re: Changing Reference Part to Normal in BOM

03-02-2012 08:25 AM in reply to: *Andrew Faix \(Autodesk\)

Hi,,

 

I saw your answer here.  I am having trouble changing a reference subassembly to normal.  What I mean is, I am adding an assembly TO an assembly, and it comes in as Reference.  How do I get that subassembly to NOT be reference in the first place?  (Plus there is not a choice to set it to normal.  Both choices are reference, the defaut as well.  If I try to change it in the BOM it changes back to reference by iteslf.)

 

Was it saved as a reference assembly somehow?  If so, how can I set it back to normal without having to re build it?

 

Thanks for ANY help on this, it's driving me crazy.

 

 

Valued Mentor
IgorMir
Posts: 481
Registered: ‎08-02-2003
Message 4 of 8 (271 Views)

Re: Changing Reference Part to Normal in BOM

03-02-2012 04:24 PM in reply to: dwing

Try this: open the subassembly, go Tools-->Document Settings-->Bill of Materials.

Here is a screen shot for your convenience.

Best Regards,

Igor.

Web: www.meqc.com.au
Active Contributor
dwing
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎03-02-2012
Message 5 of 8 (243 Views)

Re: Changing Reference Part to Normal in BOM

03-05-2012 05:28 AM in reply to: IgorMir

Thanks for the reply!  It's exactly what I was looking for.

 

Dan

 

P.S. -  I also now realize that I needed to check the subassy out of Vault in order for the BOM change to 'stick'.  That's probably why it kept changing back.  Pretty obvious now.  -Thanks again.

 

www.yf.com

www.tactair.com

Valued Mentor
IgorMir
Posts: 481
Registered: ‎08-02-2003
Message 6 of 8 (228 Views)

Re: Changing Reference Part to Normal in BOM

03-05-2012 04:46 PM in reply to: dwing

Hi Dan,

I have had a look at the web sites you have provided at the bottom of your reply. Interesting job you do!

Best Regards,

Igor.

Web: www.meqc.com.au
Active Contributor
dwing
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎03-02-2012
Message 7 of 8 (218 Views)

Re: Changing Reference Part to Normal in BOM

03-06-2012 04:08 AM in reply to: *Gary Cross \( IV10 SP1\)

Hi Igor,

 

I did the same.  You do some pretty cool stuff too!

 

Dan

 

www.yf.com

www.tactair.com

Valued Mentor
IgorMir
Posts: 481
Registered: ‎08-02-2003
Message 8 of 8 (197 Views)

Re: Changing Reference Part to Normal in BOM

03-06-2012 04:10 PM in reply to: dwing

Thanks, Dan

Best Regards,

Igor.

Web: www.meqc.com.au

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube