Inventor General

Reply
Valued Contributor
Mario428
Posts: 93
Registered: ‎03-20-2013
Message 1 of 14 (194 Views)
Accepted Solution

Bolted Connections creating tapped holes

194 Views, 13 Replies
08-15-2013 10:43 AM

I needed to create a lot of bolted connections so that my design could be sent for FEA analysis.

Connections with thru holes eg. nuts and washers on the back work fine beyond the everpresent update issues.

 

My issue is with tapped holes, my parts already have the tapped holes but the "Bot\lted connection" feature insists on creating a new tapped hole for me. This is not so bad but every time I have to update for moved holes etc when updating the bolted connection I get a new tapped hole.

 

Would really like to get rid of that tapped hole?

Also when I get the extra holes I delete the feature and then have problems with the underlying sketch which I cannot access, how do I get rid of that sketch or how do I access it?

 

Thanks

*Expert Elite*
cbenner
Posts: 3,132
Registered: ‎04-06-2010
Message 2 of 14 (180 Views)

Re: Bolted Connections creating tapped holes

08-15-2013 11:38 AM in reply to: Mario428

How are you creating your BC?  Are you using the "existing hole" method?

ChrisB

ADSK_Expert_Elite_Icon_S_Color_Blk.png

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Thank you! :smileyhappy:

http://cbennertipstricks.blogspot.com/


   

*Expert Elite*
LT.Rusty
Posts: 692
Registered: ‎10-23-2012
Message 3 of 14 (178 Views)

Re: Bolted Connections creating tapped holes

08-15-2013 11:40 AM in reply to: Mario428

Also, bolted connections aren't going to do much for you in FEA ... you're a lot better off getting creative with some split features and using some bonded contacts, or some clever constraints.


___________________________________________________________

Product Design Suite Ultimate 2013, 2014, 2015

Work: Dell Precision T1600 (Xeon E3-1280 / 16GB / 512 GB SSD / 250 GB (Internal) / 1 TB (External) / Quadro 600)
Home: i7-4770k / ASUS Z87-Pro / 16GB / 250 GB SSD / 1 TB HDD / 3 TB USB3 HDD / Radeon R9-270X 4GB
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite P755-S5269 (i7-2630QM / 8 GB / 250 GB SSD / 750 GB HDD / GT540M)

Valued Contributor
Mario428
Posts: 93
Registered: ‎03-20-2013
Message 4 of 14 (169 Views)

Re: Bolted Connections creating tapped holes

08-15-2013 12:12 PM in reply to: cbenner

cbenner wrote:

How are you creating your BC?  Are you using the "existing hole" method?


Do not any such option anywhere, would like to use that if I could figure out how to set it.

Valued Contributor
Mario428
Posts: 93
Registered: ‎03-20-2013
Message 5 of 14 (168 Views)

Re: Bolted Connections creating tapped holes

08-15-2013 12:12 PM in reply to: LT.Rusty

LT.Rusty wrote:

Also, bolted connections aren't going to do much for you in FEA ... you're a lot better off getting creative with some split features and using some bonded contacts, or some clever constraints.


I send them a .stp file so the fasteners come thru just like the parts do

*Expert Elite*
LT.Rusty
Posts: 692
Registered: ‎10-23-2012
Message 6 of 14 (166 Views)

Re: Bolted Connections creating tapped holes

08-15-2013 12:14 PM in reply to: Mario428

Just for fun, why don't you re-import a step file of one of your threaded fasteners, and see what you get out of it.

 

 

Trust me, they're not using them when they do the FEA.


___________________________________________________________

Product Design Suite Ultimate 2013, 2014, 2015

Work: Dell Precision T1600 (Xeon E3-1280 / 16GB / 512 GB SSD / 250 GB (Internal) / 1 TB (External) / Quadro 600)
Home: i7-4770k / ASUS Z87-Pro / 16GB / 250 GB SSD / 1 TB HDD / 3 TB USB3 HDD / Radeon R9-270X 4GB
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite P755-S5269 (i7-2630QM / 8 GB / 250 GB SSD / 750 GB HDD / GT540M)

*Expert Elite*
cbenner
Posts: 3,132
Registered: ‎04-06-2010
Message 7 of 14 (158 Views)

Re: Bolted Connections creating tapped holes

08-15-2013 12:17 PM in reply to: Mario428

It should show up in the BC dialog box as a selection option.  What version of Inventor are you on?

 

ChrisB

ADSK_Expert_Elite_Icon_S_Color_Blk.png

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Thank you! :smileyhappy:

http://cbennertipstricks.blogspot.com/


   

Valued Contributor
Mario428
Posts: 93
Registered: ‎03-20-2013
Message 8 of 14 (157 Views)

Re: Bolted Connections creating tapped holes

08-15-2013 12:18 PM in reply to: LT.Rusty

LT.Rusty wrote:

Just for fun, why don't you re-import a step file of one of your threaded fasteners, and see what you get out of it.

 

 

Trust me, they're not using them when they do the FEA.


No they are not but they needed to know fasteners size etc. They wanted fasteners in all the holes for the ASME pressure vessel submission so I put fasteners in. Bolted connection is by far the quickest way but "almost" causes more problems than it fixes

*Expert Elite*
cbenner
Posts: 3,132
Registered: ‎04-06-2010
Message 9 of 14 (155 Views)

Re: Bolted Connections creating tapped holes

08-15-2013 12:19 PM in reply to: cbenner

bc.JPG

ChrisB

ADSK_Expert_Elite_Icon_S_Color_Blk.png

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Thank you! :smileyhappy:

http://cbennertipstricks.blogspot.com/


   

*Expert Elite*
LT.Rusty
Posts: 692
Registered: ‎10-23-2012
Message 10 of 14 (154 Views)

Re: Bolted Connections creating tapped holes

08-15-2013 12:20 PM in reply to: Mario428

"Almost" is being charitable.

 

 

 


___________________________________________________________

Product Design Suite Ultimate 2013, 2014, 2015

Work: Dell Precision T1600 (Xeon E3-1280 / 16GB / 512 GB SSD / 250 GB (Internal) / 1 TB (External) / Quadro 600)
Home: i7-4770k / ASUS Z87-Pro / 16GB / 250 GB SSD / 1 TB HDD / 3 TB USB3 HDD / Radeon R9-270X 4GB
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite P755-S5269 (i7-2630QM / 8 GB / 250 GB SSD / 750 GB HDD / GT540M)

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube