Inventor General

Reply
Member
alexandrenarten
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-07-2013
Message 1 of 7 (427 Views)
Accepted Solution

Bolted Connection Generator Through Multiple Parts

427 Views, 6 Replies
01-07-2013 09:06 AM

Hello People :smileyhappy:

 

I'm trying out Inventor 2013 and I have modelled 2 parts. 1 hollow cone with a collar on each end and a disk to fit between 2 instances of that cone positioned in opposite directions in my assembly.

 

Perspective

Side View

 

I am having difficulty making a bolted connection between the 3 parts through any of the holes. It only seems to go through one of the collars and the central disk but I can't get the generator to select the correct termination surface on the collar of the second cone. Is this not possible?

Member
alexandrenarten
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-07-2013
Message 2 of 7 (423 Views)

Re: Bolted Connection Generator Through Multiple Parts

01-07-2013 09:16 AM in reply to: alexandrenarten

Here are some more images to better express my problem:

 

Bolted Connection Generator WRONG SURFACE

As you can see, it only seems to let me choose the closing surface of the same cone and not the opposite surface from the other cone.

 

The Surface I want to connect to

The arrow indicates the out hole / surface I'd like the bolt to terminate at.

 

Please let me know what I'm doing wrong. Thank you so much for your time :smileyvery-happy:

*Expert Elite*
PaulMunford
Posts: 891
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 3 of 7 (412 Views)

Re: Bolted Connection Generator Through Multiple Parts

01-07-2013 01:25 PM in reply to: alexandrenarten
Are the two cones the same part, or a mirrored part?

Mirrored parts contain a derived reference to the base part. The bolted connection generator will not work with two parts derived frothy same base part...
The CAD Setter Out Blog @CadSetterOut

Inventor Surfacing | AutoCAD | CAD Standards
 
Please use the Mark Solutions! Accept as Solution or Give Kudos! Kudos functions - Thank you!
Member
alexandrenarten
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-07-2013
Message 4 of 7 (379 Views)

Re: Bolted Connection Generator Through Multiple Parts

01-08-2013 06:17 AM in reply to: alexandrenarten

Ahaaa! Thank you Paul! I had read something about that but wasn't quite sure what it meant. I will try to create a mirror part so that I can use the bolted connection generator. I'll let you know how I get on.

 

HAPPY NEW YEAR :smileyvery-happy:

Member
alexandrenarten
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-07-2013
Message 5 of 7 (373 Views)

Re: Bolted Connection Generator Through Multiple Parts

01-08-2013 07:11 AM in reply to: alexandrenarten

OK! I checked out mirroring parts but unfortunately it seems to have to be done within the same part as the original.. I didn't quite grasp the concept. So, instead, I saved my original part file as a second part file and imported that one into my assembly along with the original and did some magic. All worked out well. I have a lot to learn with this software but so far this will do.

 

Thanks again Paul.

*Expert Elite*
PaulMunford
Posts: 891
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 6 of 7 (345 Views)

Re: Bolted Connection Generator Through Multiple Parts

01-13-2013 11:50 PM in reply to: alexandrenarten

Grreat stuss Alexandre!

 

Just remember that the two parts are no longer linked. If you need to make a change in one, you'll need to make the same change in the other...

 

Your other options to solve this would be:

 

To model as two completly separtae parts from the start (with the same issue as above)

 

To use a 'design' model, with each end modelled seperatly, and then dervie out both parts (more work, but more stable).

 

It depends on how much flexibility you want, and how much parametric control you want...

 

Sometimes, it's just easier to model the holes in a design part, and then insert the bolts using the design centre...

The CAD Setter Out Blog @CadSetterOut

Inventor Surfacing | AutoCAD | CAD Standards
 
Please use the Mark Solutions! Accept as Solution or Give Kudos! Kudos functions - Thank you!
Mentor
RobJV
Posts: 534
Registered: ‎07-14-2004
Message 7 of 7 (331 Views)

Re: Bolted Connection Generator Through Multiple Parts

01-14-2013 01:15 PM in reply to: alexandrenarten

As you have found out, since it is the same or mirrored part, the bolted connection generator will not make holes in the second instance of your part as it cannot reconcile the parts.  Imagine if you had rotated one of the parts by say 30 degrees.  You would end up with holes that would not be used on one of the parts as it would try to create a different set of holes on the same parts (impossible) - maybe more confusing and I should just leave alone. 

 

Anyways, to avoid these problems altogether, my experience has told me to make the holes in your parts beforehand and almost never let the generator create your holes.  You are just asking for trouble down the road.

 

Rob

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube