Inventor General

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎05-20-2009
Message 1 of 7 (355 Views)

Bolted Connection - Failing to stay constrained

355 Views, 6 Replies
01-11-2010 01:35 PM
I've been having an issue with my bolted connection - when I check to follow pattern or if I pick multiple holes the bolted connection doesn't stay locked down by constraints - it still wants to rotate about the first picked hole axis. When I have used bolted connection in the past it would always remain completely constrained. Would anyone happen to know why this is? Thanks
*Blair Stunder
Message 2 of 7 (354 Views)

Re: Bolted Connection - Failing to stay constrained

01-11-2010 04:08 PM in reply to: schwebby
Version and SP's

--
IV2010-Pro-sp2
Vista Business 64bit Sp2
Core i7 950 @ 3.07Ghz
12Gb DDR3-1600, 240Gb (4 x 60 Gb SSD - RAID0)
Quadro FX3800 - 191.78
SpacePilot 3.8.3 / 6.8.1
AVG9.0
"schwebby" wrote in message news:6316345@discussion.autodesk.com...
I've been having an issue with my bolted connection - when I check to follow
pattern or if I pick multiple holes the bolted connection doesn't stay
locked down by constraints - it still wants to rotate about the first picked
hole axis. When I have used bolted connection in the past it would always
remain completely constrained. Would anyone happen to know why this is?
Thanks
Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎05-20-2009
Message 3 of 7 (354 Views)

Re: Bolted Connection - Failing to stay constrained

01-12-2010 07:46 AM in reply to: schwebby
Sorry - Inventor 2010 SP 1
*Ohap
Message 4 of 7 (354 Views)

Re: Bolted Connection - Failing to stay constrained

01-13-2010 04:53 AM in reply to: schwebby
Hello

unfortunatelly , as far as I know it is as designed. Workaround for that is
to add a new own constrain on a one bold in the pattern to constrain ti with
a part. Then it works well. And also you have to check if something changes
with pattern that BC is on right possition.

regards


"schwebby" píše v diskusním příspěvku
news:6316345@discussion.autodesk.com...
I've been having an issue with my bolted connection - when I check to follow
pattern or if I pick multiple holes the bolted connection doesn't stay
locked down by constraints - it still wants to rotate about the first picked
hole axis. When I have used bolted connection in the past it would always
remain completely constrained. Would anyone happen to know why this is?
Thanks

__________ Informace od ESET NOD32 Antivirus, verze databaze 4763 (20100112)
__________

Tuto zpravu proveril ESET NOD32 Antivirus.

http://www.eset.cz




__________ Informace od ESET NOD32 Antivirus, verze databaze 4766 (20100113) __________

Tuto zpravu proveril ESET NOD32 Antivirus.

http://www.eset.cz
Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎05-20-2009
Message 5 of 7 (354 Views)

Re: Bolted Connection - Failing to stay constrained

01-14-2010 07:23 AM in reply to: schwebby
I find this hard to believe - it has worked in the past where the bolted connection is locked down - I have been noticing this issue for the past 3 weeks - thought it was maybe something with old projects i'm working in?
Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎05-20-2009
Message 6 of 7 (354 Views)

Re: Bolted Connection - Failing to stay constrained

01-20-2010 08:23 AM in reply to: schwebby
well - after trying a new project and assembly the bolted connection still rotates about the selected hole axis. I'm thinking it might be the way Inventor 2010 does the bolted connection - I'll have to try it again in Inventor 2009 and see if the bolted connection stays constrained.
Valued Mentor
jeanchile
Posts: 699
Registered: ‎11-10-2009
Message 7 of 7 (354 Views)

Re: Bolted Connection - Failing to stay constrained

01-31-2010 10:01 PM in reply to: schwebby
I too am having this issue, and I am unable to add an additional constraint without getting the "overconstrained" prompt. I'll spare the long stories but it seems the easiest thing for me to do is recreate this bolted connection each time after altering the model. Is there any news or information about why this would do this or what I could do differently?

IV2010 SP1
Vista Ultimate SP2 Edited by: jeanchile on Feb 1, 2010 6:01 AM
Inventor Professional 2013 (SP-2.3), Product Design Suite Ultimate
Desktop: Intel Core i7 3.4GHz, 16.0 GB RAM, Windows 7 Ultimate SP-1, 64-bit OS, (2) GeForce GTX 580 (331.81), Space Pilot Pro (3.16.1)
Laptop: Intel Core i7 3.9GHz, 16.0 GB RAM, Windows 7 Pro SP-1, 64-bit OS, GeForce GTX 780 (331.81), SpaceNavigator (3.17.7)

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube