Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Best iLogic workflow?

10 REPLIES 10
Message 1 of 11
wseaston
2241 Views, 10 Replies

Best iLogic workflow?

I am just getting into using iLogic for some of our products. It seems to be quite a steep learning curve and the the Autodesk claim that no "programming experience" is needed is a little exaggerated. I feel that if I had good programming knowledge this would be alot easier.

My current method is to create a single multibody part with various features which can be suppressed, unsuppressed, dims modified, predominantly from the fx parameters. These are linked to iLogic rules. My intention is that once the correct configuration has bee selected the cad user would then use the create parts function to create the individual ipt's and the iam. Would others agree with this method or would you recommend creating the assembly with the individual ipt's and then use rules to control suppression states of the ipt's in the assembly.

So far it seems a little easier doing it from one ipt instead of trying to figure out how to get rules to work accross mulitple parts and still be able it control it all from one location. The problem is that the single ipt multibody approach also starts to get quite complicated as I attempt adding more design variations.

Your thoughts please?

10 REPLIES 10
Message 2 of 11
PaulMunford
in reply to: wseaston

It's really hard to say without knowing more about your usual workflow.

I suggest considering external rules...

Autodesk Industry Marketing Manager UK D&M
Opinions are my own and may not reflect those of my company.
Linkedin Twitter Instagram Facebook Pinterest

Message 3 of 11
MjDeck

I think most people work with assemblies rather than multibody parts.  We have more support for that in iLogic.