Inventor General

Reply
*Expert Elite*
-niels-
Posts: 1,300
Registered: ‎06-20-2006
Message 1 of 13 (510 Views)
Accepted Solution

Bend part doesn't work with thread feature present

510 Views, 12 Replies
10-31-2012 12:57 AM

I've attached an example of a workflow we use to make different instances of products.

part1 gets assembled in assembly1 which then gets derived in part2 to receive a bend.

We use assembly1 in one place and part2 in another.

(this is a simplified example, made with IV2013 SP1.1)

 

Now for the problem:

In part1, if you add the thread feature, the "bend part" feature in part2 fails after updating.

This also happens if you try to add a "bend part" to part1 AFTER the thread feature, if the bend is present beforehand it does work.

Having the bend before the thread feature in part1 doesn't work with our workflow, because we need the assembly1 to be straight.

 

In short, the thread feature is causing problems with "bend part".

 

I can't say if this problem was present in previous versions or even in the previous service pack since we don't use this workflow that often, especially with threaded parts, but i hope this can get fixed with a hotfix.


Using IV2014 Pro SP1 update 1, Win7-64bit
*Expert Elite*
Posts: 25,288
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 2 of 13 (484 Views)

Re: Bend part doesn't work with thread feature present

10-31-2012 05:22 AM in reply to: -niels-

I don't see a Bend Part feature?

I don't see a sketch for adding Bend Part feature?

I don't see derived part?

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2014 Edu 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
*Expert Elite*
-niels-
Posts: 1,300
Registered: ‎06-20-2006
Message 3 of 13 (472 Views)

Re: Bend part doesn't work with thread feature present

10-31-2012 06:19 AM in reply to: JDMather

The bend part feature should be present in part2, so you don't have to add it yourself.

Part2 also holds the derived assembly1.

Part1 should have a thread feature under the EoP which, when included, should show the error in part2.

 

Maybe the way i wrote it caused confusion, if so i apologize, or is there something missing in my attached files?

 


Using IV2014 Pro SP1 update 1, Win7-64bit
Distinguished Mentor
Posts: 803
Registered: ‎04-11-2005
Message 4 of 13 (467 Views)

Re: Bend part doesn't work with thread feature present

10-31-2012 06:36 AM in reply to: -niels-

Strange indeed!

(JD you need to open part2, it's not included in the assembly)

*Expert Elite*
Posts: 25,288
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 5 of 13 (445 Views)

Re: Bend part doesn't work with thread feature present

10-31-2012 11:03 AM in reply to: rdyson

My mistake, I saw the two parts in the assembly and did not look close enough to see that it was too instances of the same part.  Never opened  Part2.

 

I did some experimenting creating the geometry in a single part and it failed as well.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2014 Edu 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
*Expert Elite*
-niels-
Posts: 1,300
Registered: ‎06-20-2006
Message 6 of 13 (413 Views)

Re: Bend part doesn't work with thread feature present

11-01-2012 12:16 AM in reply to: JDMather

JD, Rdyson; do you happen to know if this problem was present in previous releases of IV?

I'm just wondering if this ever worked or not...


Using IV2014 Pro SP1 update 1, Win7-64bit
Distinguished Mentor
Posts: 803
Registered: ‎04-11-2005
Message 7 of 13 (393 Views)

Re: Bend part doesn't work with thread feature present

11-01-2012 05:43 AM in reply to: -niels-

Sorry, no idea and and only go back to 2012.

Here's a work around, until someone from Adesk pops around (maybe).

I used the thread modeler plugin from Labs.

Not ideal but might work for you.

*Expert Elite*
-niels-
Posts: 1,300
Registered: ‎06-20-2006
Message 8 of 13 (380 Views)

Re: Bend part doesn't work with thread feature present

11-01-2012 07:49 AM in reply to: rdyson

I must say that your proposed workaround looks really nice!

But, sadly, by modeling the thread you can't use the thread/hole note annotation on drawings, so I can't use it in our situation. :smileysad:

I wouldn't mind getting a link to that plugin though...

 

 


Using IV2014 Pro SP1 update 1, Win7-64bit
Distinguished Mentor
Posts: 803
Registered: ‎04-11-2005
Message 9 of 13 (368 Views)

Re: Bend part doesn't work with thread feature present

11-01-2012 08:48 AM in reply to: -niels-

If you unsupress the thread feature, hole note works in the drawing. Unfortunately that will also cause the bend to fail, so not a solution.

The plugin has been move to Autodesk Exchange Apps.

Employee
Posts: 228
Registered: ‎12-14-2006
Message 10 of 13 (343 Views)

Re: Bend part doesn't work with thread feature present

11-01-2012 06:29 PM in reply to: rdyson

Hi niels,

 

Many thanks for posting this issue, and apologies for not responding to this sooner!

 

I've taken a look at our problem database, and this doesn't appear to be an issue we've seen before. I've logged this as issue 1478607 and assigned this to the development team, so hopefully we can look into getting this fixed for a future release.

 

The problem only appears to affect non-Full Length threads, so an alternative workaround I can offer for this model is to split the part face at the point where the thread should terminate, and then perform a Full Length thread on the split face (see attachment). This allows the Bend to compute successfully, and this should also allow you to annotate the drawing correctly.

 

If this doesn't work for your workflow, let me more details and I'll try to offer further assistance.

 

Thanks!

Jake



Jake Fowler
Sr. Software QA Engineer
Autodesk, Inc.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube