Inventor General

Reply
Contributor
njseckora
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎10-12-2012
Message 1 of 4 (195 Views)

Assembly to part file linked parameters.

195 Views, 3 Replies
01-22-2013 07:49 AM

My goal is to open have people go into a central assembly file, type in their specific parameters and the various part files update within the assembly. I wish to do this without the need for an excel sheet, but when I try to link the parameters from the assembly file to the part files, it will not allow me to insert these parts. I get an error about an "assembly can not be placed into itself."

 

Iparts will not work as this has an infinite amount of sizes.

 

Thanks in advance.

Valued Mentor
stephengibson76
Posts: 1,080
Registered: ‎08-01-2006
Message 2 of 4 (180 Views)

Re: Assembly to part file linked parameters.

01-22-2013 09:47 AM in reply to: njseckora

create a dummy part with parameters, insert into your assembly, when you start a new part derive this dummy part into it and take the parameters you need, when you update the dummy part all the other parts will update...

 

do a search here for skeletal or master sketch modelling

Stephen Gibson



View stephen gibson's profile on LinkedIn


*Expert Elite*
jtylerbc
Posts: 864
Registered: ‎09-01-2010
Message 3 of 4 (173 Views)

Re: Assembly to part file linked parameters.

01-22-2013 10:40 AM in reply to: stephengibson76

It is also possible to have the parameters in your assembly and then use an iLogic rule to push their values out to the part files.

John Tyler
Inventor 2013
Windows 7 64 Bit
Valued Mentor
SeanFarr
Posts: 475
Registered: ‎07-25-2012
Message 4 of 4 (166 Views)

Re: Assembly to part file linked parameters.

01-22-2013 12:00 PM in reply to: njseckora

I think I was accomplished what you are trying to do. Not 100% sure,

 

I wanted to have a finished assembly file, that could altered by changing specifc parameters.

in my case, the 'skeleton' file dives the frame size. the sheet metal panels are a linked to the frame size, so if the frame size changes then the panels change accordingly.

 

See this link:

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Inventor-Customization/Form-want-to-change-parameters-of-skel...

 

I solved my own question, in the last post there is a link to a set of short videos, these were VERY helpful...

 

Let me know if it is what you were looking for.

 

Thanks

 

Sean Farr

Sean Farr
Product Designer at TESInc.ca

Inventor Professional 2014-Update 2 - AutoCAD Electrical 2014
Win7-x64 | ASUS P8Z77-V | i7 3770 -3.4 GHz | 32GB RAM |
240GB SSD | nVidia GTX 670 4GB - 320.49

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube